Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club Teams Race

January 27, 2008

Team Viking plunders A grade teams race

With the world Professional Cycling spotlight on The Tour Down Under this week, the ICC decided to hold its club races based around a teams format, similar to the top class teams lined up in Adelaide. There was no Stuart O’Grady or Allan Davis on the start list but this did not prevent the same tactical skills coming to the fore .The best field assembled in six months saw 19 riders split into four teams take on the challenging 37 kilometre course.

Attacks and counter attacks began as soon as the race got underway and did not let up for the first nine kilometres to Marshall Mount Hall. The peloton was strung out as protagonists from all teams tried there hands at establishing a leading break away.

The first Group to detach them selves from the peloton was made up of Craig Paull, Drew Robertson, Jeff Gray and Danny Hennessy, with all teams being represented. It looked like the leaders would waltz away to a comfortable victory. However the team tactics meant that the break was doomed as Gray and Hennessy would not contribute, favoring their sprinters to rejoin the lead.

Danish rider Eric Haakonssen made a solo bid to join the lead and made the junction with half race distance covered. With two riders now being from the same team the whole dynamics of the leading group changed as Paull and Haakensson (Team Viking) had to pull turns of pace. A few surges took place in the group and this caused Haakensson to get unhitched and loose contact. Former Tour Down Under competitor Brendon Cato, making a comeback to racing was next to break from the peloton and bridge the gap to the leaders.

Being a threat to other teams, strong turns of pace by Peter Cooper ensured the whole peloton regrouped by Hooker Hill with six kilometres to race. A big attack by new member Craig Williams at the Hill saw it nullified by a counter attack by Hennessy. He too was caught and this saw relentless surges as most riders jostled to get away. With 1.5 km to go Team Viking lead by Eric Haakonssen, Rodger Ocvirk, John Hardwick and Vincent Morrissey put the rest of the riders in the Gutter and shelled riders like peas. This gave Craig Paull an armchair ride as he went for victory and took out the Teams Scratch race for Team Viking.

The B grade event started unusually with teams unsure of how it would unfold. His intention was made very clear when Brian Joyce launched a solo attack off the front early on. This was brought back by Phil Jones, Tom Cranston and Lou Caruana. Once back together Dan McNamara and Lou Caruana chanced their arm and set off in a two pronged attack. Tom Cranston made short work in bridging over and doing so towed team mate Joe Chiaverini and opponent John Danzo across the gap. The foxing was soon put aside and an alliance was formed. The five strong group worked well and consolidated the gap over the remainder of the race. The final km saw this group down to three.Although the strongest of the three John Danzo fell victim to a cunning maneuver, which saw Tom Cranston take a well earned win for “Team International”.

In C grade newcomer Bernie Negus took line honors from Craig Brown and Baz Simmons.


A Grade - 37.5km
1 Craig Paull (Illawarra)            57.47
2 Brendan Cato (Illawarra)            0.12
3 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                   
4 Peter Cooper (Illawarra)                
5 Craig Williams (Illawarra)              
6 Vincent Morrissey (Illawarra)           
7 Andrew Rutty (Nowra)                    
8 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)                
9 John Hardwick (Illawarra)               
10 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)              
11 Daniel Silveri (Illawarra)             
12 Matthew Hennessy (Illawarra)           
13 Neil Williams (Illawarra)              
14 Eric Haakonssen (Illawarra)            
15 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)              
16 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)             
17 Danny Hennessy (Illawarra)             
18 Jeffrey Gray                           
DNF Tim Morris (Illawarra)                
B Grade - 37.5km
1 Thomas Cranston (Illawarra)      1.01.40
2 John Danzo (Illawarra)                  
3 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)              
4 Dan McNamara (Illawarra)                
5 Lou Caruana (Illawarra)             0.16
6 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)         1.19
7 Con Karlis (Illawarra)                  
8 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)          1.34
9 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)            
10 Philip Jones (Illawarra)               
10 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)               
11 Peter Evans (Illawarra)                
12 Tony Burke (Illawarra)                 
13 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)                
14 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)     

C Grade - 18.5km
1 Bernie Negus                     1.06.41
2 Craig Brown (Illawarra)                 
3 Baz Simmons                             
4 Isaac Beard (Illawarra)             0.09
5 Michael Charles                         
6 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)         0.31
7 Mark Cranston                       0.44
8 Ian (Roger) Phillips (Illawarra)    1.22
9 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)       2.23
D Grade - 18.5km
1 Steve Dole (Illawarra)             37.37
2 Juan Ruiz (Illawarra)               0.43
3 Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)     1.49