Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club Club Criterium Championships

Port Kembla, NSW, February 3, 2008

Hennessy takes title

There was a strong turnout for the Illawarra Cycling Club Criterium Championship on the weekend. Held along a hot-dog course at Port Kembla’s MM beach, the racing was fiercely contested across three grades.

In the feature A Grade event there was action on the first lap when some riders took a small tumble after overshooting the second turn. No one was injured and all resumed racing.

Craig Paull and Matt Hennessy put in a strong attack and spent much of the race off the front. The bunch was chasing behind, but it wasn’t until under five minutes to go that the pair were finally reeled in.

Aaron Donnelly, Tim Morris and Michael Lanyon put in some strong turns to finally close the gap, but then all were surprised by an attack by Danny Hennessy with just under three laps to go. Riders were left looking at each other to take up the chase, knowing that to do so may forfeit there own chance at victory.

In the end this indecision cost those in the bunch any chance of victory as Danny Hennessy held on for a strong win. Roger Ocvirk showed his sprinting strength to tyake second from Aaron Donnelly.

The B Grade event came down to a large bunch sprint after a fast paced race. Coming into the final turn you could have thrown a blanket over the entire field. Paul Oyston lead the bunch at a strong pace into the turn as behind him the rest of the field were looking for the perfect line.

Under a squeal of brakes, with the back end sliding John Danzo went from second to sixth at the turn as Joe Chiaverini sneaked into the gap. Out of the turn Paul Oyston held on for an impressive win, with Chiaverini second and Danzo recovering for third.

Another strong field took the start in C Grade. Craig Brown attacked from the start trying to get a feel for the other riders. The bunch quickly organised themselves to prevent Brown stealing too much of a march and by the end of the third lap they had him reeled in.

Geoff Pollard took over at the head of the field happy to set the pace. Former club president, Patrick Delahunty, in his second race after a long spell, was also keen to test everyone’s legs. As the race continued the pace continued to get faster. Bobby Krstevski and Brown continued to stretch the field out discouraging attacks off the front.

The fast pace began to take its toll on the bunch and the field began to splinter with those riders with good cornering skills able to split the field into several small groups. Kieran Heffernan is always hard to beat in a sprint and he took the C grade championship with Edward Baird, showing he is a rider to keep an eye on, second and James Mottram third.


A Grade - Time plus 3 laps
1 Danny Hennessy (Illawarra)      25.00
2 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)             
3 Aaron Donnelly (Illawarra)           
4 Eric Haakonssen (Illawarra)          
5 Tim Morris (Illawarra)               
6 Craig Williams (Illawarra)           
7 Michael Lanyon (Illawarra)           
8 John Hardwick (Illawarra)            
9 Jeffrey Gray                         
10 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)          
11 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)               
12 Matthew Hennessy (Illawarra)        
13 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)           
14 David McMaster (Illawarra)          
15 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)           
16 Daniel Silveri (Illawarra)          
17 Brad Martin (Illawarra)             
B Grade - Time plus 3 laps
1 Paul Oyston (Illawarra)         25.00
2 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)           
3 John Danzo (Illawarra)               
4 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)             
5 Philip Jones (Illawarra)             
6 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)              
7 Con Karlis (Illawarra)               
8 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)          
9 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)           
10 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)               
11 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)              
12 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)             
13 Tony Burke (Illawarra)              
14 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)        
15 Diego Diaz (Illawarra)              
C Grade - Time plus 3 laps
1 Kieran Heffernan (Illawarra)    20.00
2 Edward Baird (Illawarra)             
3 James Mottram (Nowra)                
4 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)          
5 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)        
6 Stuart Gadd (Illawarra)              
7 Craig Brown (Illawarra)              
8 Geoff Pollard (Illawarra)            
9 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)             
10 Wayne Farrugia (Illawarra)