Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel Cycling Club

Race 12, Port Kennedy Cycles Handicap Series, Karnup Road Serpentine, September 8, 2007

Diesel powers up

Phil Diesel recorded back-to-back wins with a timely sprint in the final race of the Port Kennedy Cycles Handicap Series. The race, run by the Peel Cycling Club with support from Port Kennedy Cycles, was held on the Serpentine circuit covering 45 kilometres.

First away in overcast and windy conditions were Tony Van Merwyk and Stan Baker at 12 minutes closely followed by Wade and Danielle Longworth with Fraser Hanlon and Rob Davis off the nine minute mark. Laurie Longworth and Alan Cluning were underway at the six minute mark.

Diesel, off scratch and in company with Russell Fryer and Michael Dowell, was making good ground early and surprisingly reeled in the two minute markers Geoff Marshall, Brian buck and Steve Ware on third of five laps.

At about the 30 kilometre mark a heavy downpour slowed the progress of the early markers as Diesels' group powered around the circuit gathering in all before them. Also in company were Geoff Marshall and Brian Buck showing good form as was Michael Dowell with Ware also in the mix. Further back and out of touch Laurie Longworth was feeling the pinch after a long break out of the saddle as Alan Cluning retired from the event.

In the final kilometres Van Merwyk and Wade Longworth lost touch with the front runners as Buck put in a huge effort off the front only to fade 400 metres from the line. In a blanket finish it was Diesel delivering the goods ahead of Fryer second, Dowell third and Marshall fourth.

Diesel also recorded the fasted time in testing conditions of 1.09.12.

Results - 45 km

1 Phil Deisel
2 Russell Fryer
3 Michael Dowell
4 Geoff Marshall
5 Steve Ware
6 Brian Buck
7 Wade Longworth
8 Tony van Merwyk 
9 Rob Davis
10 Stan Baker
11 Danielle Longworth
12 Fraser Hanlan
13 Laurie Longworth

Results 2007