Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Jack McGowan Handicap, Saturday, September 1, 2007

By Mal Sawford

Four of the youngsters off Limit
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Riding off a ten minute handicap, Vaughan Allen took out the 2007 Pick a Part Handicap to cap off a great ride by the middle markers. Fifty-eight riders took to the start line under still, blue skies, and were divided into seven groups with the Limit bunch given a 26 minute advantage.

Melissa Nicholls shepherded the eager Limit bunch, made up largely of juniors to the base of the Heath Hill climb, before Nathan Corrigan, Nathanial Collard and twins Munro and Clement Boydell skipped clear. The foursome worked well together, and held off all chasers until after the turn into Heads Road on the second lap.

Unfortunately their restricted gears didn't give them much chance of staying with the big group that eventually made contact, comprising riders from the 18, 14 and 10 minute groups. The 10 minute bunch had ripped through the first lap, with Paul Carnibella, Steve Morrow and Daniel Lancaster rolling strong turns, and looked every chance to deny the back markers.

Leaper rode away
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Giro d'Italia veteran Tom Leaper (Pro-Motion) was the stand out rider for the Scratch bunch and wisely set a tempo on the opening lap to keep his bunch together; but still reel in the second scratch bunch and wipe out nearly half of the deficit to the middle markers.

The scratch bunch was still four minutes behind the leaders as Heath Hill approached for the final time, and Leaper appeared to decide there was little chance of an outright win and that it was time to race for fastest time honours. Only Ed Vawdrey could follow Leaper's attack, and once over the climb the pair combined to hold off the chase from the rest of the back markers.

Out front, the lead group gradually dwindled to only six riders before Allen sprinted to the line ahead of Lancaster, Jack McGowan handicap winner Brent Nelson, Morrow, Paul Carnibella and Adam King. Leaper took fastest with a 10th place finish just over two minutes and twenty seconds later with the main bunch a further twenty seconds adrift.

Next week, racing for the South East region will be hosted by the Chelsea and Peninsula club on Saturday at the popular Crib Point circuit.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


1 Vaughan Allen (Blackburn)           2.18.50
2 Daniel Lancaster (CCCC)                    
3 Brent Nelson (Blackburn)                   
4 Steve Morrow (CCCC)                        
5 Paul Carnibella (CCCC)                     
6 Adam King (CCCC)                           
7 Cam Rotter (CCCC)                      1.42
8 Kristian Kallaur (MTBA)                    
9 Joe Siklic (St Kilda)                      
10 Tom Leaper (Blackburn)                2.21
11 Ed Vawdrey (CCCC)                         
12 Debbie Hobbs (CCCC)                   2.40
13 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn)             2.42
14 Shane Stiles (Warragul)                   
15 Frank Cipriano (CCCC)                     
16 Scott Berry (CCCC)                        
17 Tom Walker (St Kilda)                     
18 Luke Hanley (Warragul)                    
19 Russell Nelson (Blackburn)                
20 Cam Winton (CCCC)                         
21 Gary Rosengarten (CCCC)                   
22 Mark Kelly (CCCC)                         
23 Ciaran Jones (CCCC)                   2.46
24 Daniel Lewis-Toakley (CCCC)               
25 Clint Van Beveren (CCCC)                  
26 Rick Jones (CCCC)                         
27 Steve Hickey (Chelsea & Peninsula)    2.50
28 Nick Aitken (Leongatha)               2.52
29 David Buntin (CCCC)                   2.54
30 Simon Shaw (CCCC)                     2.55
31 Radelle Berriman (Blackburn)          2.58
32 Rob Pagey (CCCC)                      3.01
33 Fergus Maclachlan (St Kilda)          6.09
34 Manuel Lawrence (Blackburn)           8.21
35 Craig Hawke (Blackburn)               8.22
36 Nathanial Collard (CCCC)              8.31
37 Nathan Corrigan (CCCC)                8.47
38 Graham Prossor (CCCC)                 8.49
39 Trent Morey (CCCC)                   10.40
40 Andrew Rolland (Blackburn)           10.55
41 Matt Bishop (CCCC)                        
42 Malcolm Powell (Blackburn)           11.26
43 Peter Kirkham (CCCC)                 16.06
44 Irwan Salim (Chelsea & Peninsula)    17.27
Fastest: Tom Leaper (Blackburn)
Women: Debbie Hobbs (CCCC)

Local results 2007