Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Monash criterium, Melbourne, Victoria - March 20, 2007

MacKirdy takes victory

The 2006/2007 Summer Series came to an end with the final criterium staged in Monash on Tuesday night. No one was holding back with all riders giving it their best shot. Hamish MacKirdy claimed victory in his last club race before the family move to Victor Harbour with Angus Boase taking B Grade line honours. Simon Woods returned to the racing scene with a strong and gruelling sprint to win C Grade after Michael Anderson claimed victory for D Grade.

A Grade had several attempted breakaways with Stevens the first to attack, just minutes into the race. MacKirdy and Willoughby kept up the chase and reeled in the enthusiastic Stevens. In another attempt MacKirdy put in a strong attack up the back straight, forcing the remaining two to chase him down, eventually catching him down the home straight with the riders left with no energy for a counter attack. Willoughby staged a mad dash with a lap to go but un-fortunately his efforts were futile with MacKirdy & Stevens determined for the race to finish in a sprint down the final straight.

B Grade's race may have started with niceties but as the race progressed they too soon picked up the pace. O'Brien was determined to stick with the group and had an impressive ride in a very competitive environment. Next season's criterium series will be full of surprise packages and improved performances from new and old club members. Angus Boase, Mick Gray and Glen O'Brien can look forward to riding with a bigger bunch next season, but for now they can say they put there best wheel forward in a powerful sprint battle that finished with O'Brien third, Gray second and Boase the victor.

Simon Woods may not have been out racing lately but he hasn't lost the drive to push through the pain barrier to claim a win. Pushing it hard for the 30 minute race, C Grade averaged 34km/hr with everyone sharing the load at the front. Lara MacKirdy had a commanding finish to claim second after a sprint for the line had Woods claim top spot and Pankhurst third. Peter Weston and Ruth Strout rode solo to chase the leading riders to the line after being dropped in the final sprint battle.

Kade Boase was the first victim of Michael Anderson's strength as the pace was stepped up with the lead rider. John Eshman, Ralph Anderson, Gordon Lawton and Megan Taylor kept up and proved they too had what it takes to go out with strong individual performances. Lawton the Veteran in the grade remained with the group, eager to stay in the bunch and contest the sprint for line honours. In a tussle for minor placing's there was a three-way sprint with Eshman and Ralph Anderson chasing Michael across the line with Lawton claiming fourth. Taylor an official DNF withdrew from the final results after a strong ride with her fellow D Grade riders.


A Grade
1 Hamish MacKirdy                           
2 Lee Stevens                               
3 Nigel Willoughby                          
B Grade
1 Angus Boase                               
2 Mick Gray                                 
3 Glen O'Brien                              
C Grade 
1 Simon Woods                               
2 Lara MacKirdy                             
3 Bob Pankhurst                             
4 Peter Weston                              
5 Ruth Strout                               

Local results 2007