Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Criteriums - March 20, 2007

Stadler takes season final twilight crit

Jason Theobald finished fifth;
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
David Whyman sprinted into third
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Pat Lane fights to hold
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
C Grade race towards
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Adrian Grech and eventual C Grade winner Ross Jones
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
D Grade race into the home straight.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

The final Tuesday night race for the summer looked like being washed out as light rain fell across Melbourne for most of the day, but a well placed and stable clear patch emerged over Sandown in plenty of time for the track to dry. Another great field of over 180 riders made the most of the last opportunity to race the testing and technical motor racing circuit in still conditions.

Andrew Stalder (Promains) made it two in a row, backing up his bunch kick win from Sunday with another convincing win to lead home the huge A Grade bunch. Earlier in the race, solo riders built handy leads with Pete Smith and Nathan Wise both flying the flag for the SHM/CCCC team, but had little chance of holding off the bunch without reinforcements.

A move late in the hour came from Danny Kah (SHM/CCCC) and Nick Palecek (Richmond Cyclery), with another of the SHM/CCCC crew in Matt Chessum leading a counter attack containing Cam Lester (Premium), Jamie Goddard and Anthony Smith which survived until the start of the final lap. Following Stalder home in the mad dash were Inexa Race Frames series leader Brendan Rowbotham (SHM/CCCC), preserving most of his healthy lead over Stalder who holds down second place, David Whyman, Dale Woonton, Jason Theobald (O'Mara Cycles) and Guy Green.

Brent Tomlinson (Hampton Cycles) kicked off the serious attacks midway through the B Grade race, powering clear with Jason Kruger and Jake King (Penisula Star Cycles). Stefan Kirsch (Croydon Cycleworks) counter attacked one that trio was chased down, and worked hard with Bruce Will and Geoff Parker (Pro-Motion Bicycles) to establish a lead. Once Russell Newnham (Pro-Motion) joined the leaders, the gap grew to twenty-five seconds at two to go and looked to have the race sewn up.

Sustaining that pace proved too much, however, and the field regrouped on the final climb. The youngsters from Peninsula Star took over through the final chicane to put Ben Sanders into the ideal position to repeat his Sunday victory, and the young sprinter who went shoulder to shoulder with Jobie Dajka on the boards on Saturday night shot to a clear win. Jake King, his lead out man, held on to claim second ahead of Matt Bishop (Terry Hammond Cycles), Robert Koroknai and another of the Peninsula Star boys, Peter Walker. Mary Rogers (Kathy Watt Cycling) rode at the head of the field all night to run out a comfortable winner in the women's section.

Peter Quibell and Phill Bertolus went on the attack early in the C Grade race, but were finally chased down after thirty minutes. The next move was the one that stuck, when Ross Jones (Jones Cycles) joined Paul Carnibella and Michael McGowan on the attack. McGowan dropped off the pace with the gap at twenty seconds, but the remaining duo continued to extend their advantage, with Jones eventually taking an impressive win.

Chris Broeren lead the bunch home ahead of Duncan Wood, and Emma Gaul was the fastest of the C Grade women, sprinting clear of Melissa Kah and Stephanie Coulson. One of the biggest D Grade fields this season made it tough for riders to break clear for long. Richard Birch escaped at two to go, but was quickly chased down. The inevitable bunch sprint saw one of CCCC's promising juniors score a great win, with Jack Cummings (Bicycle Superstore) hitting the lead 100 metres from home and finishing strongly ahead of James Ibrahim, David Ross and another junior, Jamie Blaker.

Hannah Vine (Biggin & Scott) took out the women's prize, with a good sprint to finish ahead of Beata Janetzki and Andrea Bishop.

Carnegie Caulfield's twilight races may be finished for the season, but Sundays continue at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80 B2) until the end of April. B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am.

All holders of 2007 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. Licenses are now available at all CCCC events. All returning riders must resume in the grade they last raced in, unless prior arrangement has been made.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade

1 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)                
2 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 David Whyman (NSW)                                  
4 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
5 Jason Theobald (Carnegie Caulfield)                
6 Guy Green (Blackburn)                              
B Grade

1 Ben Sanders (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
2 Jake King (Carnegie Caulfield)                     
3 Matt Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
4 Ronert Koroknai (Carnegie Caulfield)               
5 Peter Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
1 Mary Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
2 Michelle Murrell (Carnegie Caulfield)              
C Grade

1 Ross Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)                    
2 Paul Carnibella (Carnegie Caulfield)               
3 Chris Broeren (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
4 Duncan Wood (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
1 Emma Gaul (Footscray)                              
2 Melissa Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
3 Stephanie Coulson (Carnegie Caulfield)             
D Grade

1 Jack Cummings (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
2 James Ibrahim (Bendigo)                            
3 David Ross (Carnegie Caulfield)                    
4 Jamie Blaker (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
1 Hannah Vine (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
2 Beata Janetzki (Carnegie Caulfield)                
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)                                                   

Local results 2007