Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club

Time Trial, Illawarra, New South Wales - March 18, 2007

Battaerd reigns supreme

The time trial is usually perceived as the pet event of triathletes or masochists. While Jonathan Hall may hold the record for the fastest time on Marshal Mount course Hans Battaerd would have to hold the record as the most consistent rider. Whether it is windy or near still or whether he is another year or two older he regularly clocks in at about 28:20 minutes. Last Sunday his winning time was 28:19:53, last September it was 28:21:65, just over two seconds difference over 18.5km.

The next best time was recorded by Matt Hennessy in 30:28:10, Joe Williams rounded out the top three with a 30:38:57.

There were some exceptional rides on the day, Lou Jonceski took almost two minutes off his previous best time stopping the clock at 32:45:80. Another masters rider who just keeps on improving is Vince O'Dwyer, he was very pleased by his performance in lowering his best time to sub 33 minutes with a 32:50:20. Juan Ruiz also recorded a good time for his first ever time trial.

Numbers were down a little as a large group of 18 riders led by Jeff Gray ventured down to Canberra for the Canberra Two Day Tour to be held next month. All of the participants said that the experience should prove beneficial on the race weekend and commented that Gray did an excellent job in organising the training.


1 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)        28.19
2 Mathew Hennessy (Nowra)           2.09
3 Joe Williams (Illawarra)          2.19
4 David McMaster (Illawarra)        2.24
5 Jon Elvy                          2.41
6 Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)    3.16
7 David Morris (Illawarra)          3.44
8 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)            3.46
9 Witold Krajewski                  3.48
10 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)         4.26
11 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)      4.31
12 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)         5.39
13 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)          9.35
14 Elizabeth Bevan (Illawarra)      9.56
15 Juan Ruiz (Illawarra)           10.38   

Local results 2007