Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club - March 11, 2007

Bennett Proves Best

A good size field started the Illawarra Cycling Club’s weekend 37.5km Handicap race on Sunday. The Handicap event allows riders of differing abilities to compete on equal terms. Slower riders are given a head start to try and reach the finish before the faster riders do.

For this race the first group off, containing Jenni Vaughan Floyd and Peter Vesel, started 13 minutes ahead of a last group. Nearing the end of the first lap the first 2 groups on the road converged. David Bowen (Hunter Valley) was driving the group starting 10 minutes ahead, along with Nicky Joyce and Lou Jonceski. Meanwhile the 6 and 9 minute groups had combined with all riders swapping off turns to keep the pace high.

Richard Wood in his first race was learning fast and soon helped his group become the lead bunch with 22kms remaining. Meanwhile the scratch bunch of 5 (starting last) combined like a well oiled machine as they all swapped off turns eating up the road ahead. With 9kms remaining they had caught the 3 groups starting ahead of them, and had wiped a massive 12 minutes off the leaders 13 minutes start.

All that remained was to catch the front group, now only 55 seconds ahead. The leaders did well to hold on as long as they did, finally conceding with only 3kms remaining. Scratch riders James Greathead and Jeff Gray then attempted to ride away for the victory, but strong turns from Aaron Hull and Ryan Hennessey kept them in check. With a sprint finish looming it was hard to pick a favourite.

Last weeks winner, Tim Morris, had punctured and even though the other scratch riders would normally dominate there was no telling how much energy they had left after the long chase. As the bunch reached the finish Graham Rutter started the sprint. Leonie Aisbett, recently returned from working in Cobar, was quick to react. But in the fight to the line it was last weeks runner up Keith Bennett who took out an impressive victory in what was also the fastest time of 54:01 (41.7km/h). Aisbett took 2nd with Rutter holding on for 3rd place, and 2nd fastest time.

Next week's race is an 18km Time Trial, known as the race of truth. Riders complete the distance by themselves without the advantage of drafting their competitors.


All In (37.5 km)
1 Keith Bennett (Illawara) 2 Leonie Aisbett (Illawara) 3 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire) 4 Anthony Kneipp (Illawara) 5 Mark Davis (Illawara) 6 James Greathead (Illawara) 7 Alan Vucko (Illawara) 8 Arron Hull (Illawara) 9 Joe Williams (Illawara) 10 Richard Wood (Illawara) 11 Ryan Hennessy (Illawara) 12 Lionel Covington (Illawara) 13 Glenn Gapps (Illawara) 14 David Bowen 15 Jeffrey Gray (Illawara) 16 Garry Doughty (Illawara) 17 Peter Kelly (Illawara) 18 Lou Jonceski (Illawara) 19 Hans Battaerd (Illawara) 20 Jonathon Hull (Illawara) 21 Michael Comensoli (Illawara) 22 Tim Morris (Illawara) 23 Peter Vesel (Illawara) 24 Frank Tortorici 25 Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawara) DNF David Morris (Illawara) DNF Jacob Shannon (Illawara) DNF Andrew Shannon (Illawara) DNF Kieran Heffernan (Illawara) DNF Adam Le Serve (Illawara) DNF Ian Robinson (Illawarra)

Local results 2007