Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Series - Tuesday, March 6, 2007

By Mal Sawford

Pat Shaw leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
B Grade line out
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Radelle Berriman
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Clear skies again for the penultimate twilight race at Sandown for the season. There is no racing on March 13 as the circuit will be used for F1 Grand Prix celebrity driver training. March 20 is the final twilight race before the end of daylight savings this year.

With a mammoth field of 76 riders in the A Grade field, it didn't take the cream long to rise to the top. After a few laps of single file action, a split formed containing Nathan Wise (Richmond Cyclery), Pat Shaw (VIS), Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles), Matt Chessum and Danny Kah (SHM), Michael Ford (South, Anthony Smith (Promains), Chris Tymms and Paul Mason.

With the leaders heading off to a thirty second advantage, a similarly sized chasing group including Pete Johnstone (VIS/Inexa Race Frames), Tom Leaper, Brett Perez (Prime Estate), Sandy MAchin (SHM), Aiden McInernay (Fitzroy Cycles), Murray Spink (Giant) and David Whyman set off in pursuit, eventually making contact with around fifteen minutes remaining.

Big Matty Chessum attacked the twenty strong lead group just before the start of the final lap, and monstered his 55-11 all the way round the 3.2km circuit to take the win by five seconds, with Pat Shaw taking a tight sprint for second ahead of Smith, Johnstone, Knevitt and Woonton.

Marlon Quinn (Specialized) was on the attack early in B Grade, breaking away with Glenn Janetzki before settling into a long term move with Rick Jones (Datacom/Burnley Finance) and Nicole Whitburn (Mainline Cycles). Once the leading trio were joined by Luke Hanley (Quick Cycle Coaching) and Paul Weymouth (Jones Cycles), it looked like the bunch was out of contention until the last lap when the chasing bunch got within fifty metres at the summit of the final climb.

The escapees dug deep through the final corners, and managed to just hold on, with Quinn taking the win ahead of Hanley, Jones, Weymouth and Whitburn, with Ben Sanders (Penisula Star) coming within inches of sprinting into a podium finish.

Just when it looked like the C Grade race would come down to a bunch sprint, wily veteran John Pritchard (Bicycle Superstore) unleased a well-timed attack on the final climb and time trialed home to an impressive win. Chris Broeren took the sprint for second ahead of the newly promoted Duncan Wood and Lucas Sproson, while Radelle Berriman took the women's race as the only girl to stay with the main bunch on a tough and windy night.

There were more final lap heroics in D Grade, with Nick Kleiss escaping to take his first win. Andrew Heraud held on by an inch to take second ahead of a fast finishing David Kefaloukos with Gary Doggett fourth. In the women's division, Hannah Vine (Biggin & Scott) ran out a convincing sprint winner ahead of a tight contest between Satah Riley and Andrea Bishop.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue on Sunday morning races at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades race at 9am, and A and C Grades ride at 10.45. The final Tuesday evening race at Sandown Raceway is on March 20. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6), with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt - there is a strict no licence no race policy in effect!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. Returning riders must resume in the grade in which they last raced, unless prior arrangements are made with the handicapper.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade (1 hour + 2 laps, 76 starters)
1 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Pat Shaw (Ballarat-Sebastapol)               
3 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)        
5 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)          
6 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)            
B Grade (55 minutes + 2 laps, 55 starters)
1 Marlon Quinn (Italo Australia)               
2 Luke Hanley (Warragul)                       
3 Rick Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)              
4 Paul Weymouth (Mornington)                   
5 Nicole Whitburn (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Nicole Whitburn (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)                
3 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)          
C Grade (50 minutes + 3 laps, 43 starters)
1 John Pritchard (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Chris Broeren (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Duncan Wood (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Lucas Sproson (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Radelle Berriman (Carnegie Caulfield)        
D Grade (45 minutes + 2 laps, 40 starters)
1 Nick Kleiss (Carnegie Caulfield)             
2 Andrew Heraud (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 David Kefaloukos (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Gary Doggett (Carnegie Caulfield)            
1 Hannah Vine (St Kilda)                       
2 Sarah Riley (MTBA)                           
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)           

Local results 2007