Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel Cycling Club

Leanne Hoffman taking a sprint
Photo ©: Melinda Ware
(Click for larger image)
The B Grade breakaway
Photo ©: Melinda Ware
(Click for larger image)
Hilton McMurdo receiving the perpetual trophy
Photo ©: Melinda Ware
(Click for larger image)

Jim Thompson Memorial Criterium, Rockingham, WA - Sunday, March 4, 2007

Dave Berglund recorded an emphatic win in the Peel cycling A Grade event last weekend. Berglund wasted no time in stamping his authority on the race with a powerful opening surge as the race got underway. Eventually Berglund was reeled in as the pace settled and the pack found its rhythm to comfortably navigate the Pinjarra circuit.

However at the 15 minute mark, Berglund, Michael Dowell and Raymond Loly slipped away to a commanding lead. Continued strong work from Brian Buck, Steve Ware and Paul Slocombe was effective to bring the leaders back to the pack. In the final stages some cat and mouse games followed before a leadout from Loly then Slocombe got the sprinters excited in the home straight, the end result was Berglund heading up a tight bunch with Dowell slotting in nicely to take second, Loly held off Darren Lee in fourth.

The B Grade race was somewhat steadier with occasional breaks attempted with little hope of success in the windy conditions. Again some good work up front from Leanne Hoffman and Andy Bennett with Russell Fryer looking very comfortable. Further back Wade Longworth and Mitchell Horwood were busy keeping in touch. However with two laps remaining Fryer attacked into the breeze and was never headed cruising over the line ahead of Hoffman with Bennett third.

Tom Atkinson and Bob Norton were the only contenders for the C Grade event. While both riders enjoyed each others company they also shared the workload but in the run home Norton lead the charge. Atkinson did not cave in as he dug deep to narrowly claim Norton on the line to record a narrow win.

The Jim Thompson Memorial Criterium Cycle Race will be on Sunday March 4th commencing at 8.30am the event will be held at Smeaton Way Rockingham and Hosted by the Peel Club with support for the West Coast Masters. The Rockingham City Council is once again the event's major sponsor.


Overall Winner: Hilton McMurdo

A Grade

1 H. McMurdo               20 pts
2 P. Brown                 14
3 M. Petterson             10
4 M. Korten                3
5 G. Woodlands             3
6 B. Williams              2
7 D. Berglund              2

B Grade

1 S. Marks                 15 pts
2 G. Marshall              10
3 A. Nagy                  7
4 S. Dodd                  6
5 E. Wetherley             5
6 S. Ratcliffe             5
7 M. Helston               3

C Grade

1 Brian Buck               15 pts
2 P. Slocombe              13.75
3 A. Clarke                13.75
4 R. Fryer                 5
5 D. McDonald              3.75
6 Paul Lewis               2.5

D Grade

1 L. Hoffman               13.75 pts
2 S. Goulds                11.25
3 C. Bloomfield            10
4 J. Iveson                6.25
5 F. Kettle                5
6 P. Edwards               3.75

E Grade (no points score)

1 J. Cox
2 T. Atkinson
3 R. Norton
4 B. Paxman

1st Lady: H. Sanderson

Local results 2007