Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club - March 4, 2007

Vaughan-Floyd takes B-Grade

Humid conditions prevailed on Sunday for the Illawarra Cycling Club 37.5km scratch race. 37 riders were split into 3 grades.

The C-grade event saw the start of newcomer Liz Bevan, making the transition from triathlon. The race was fast paced and in the end there were only three people left to contest the win. Paul Kaye took the sprint from Glenn Gapps with Dean Kelly in third.

The bunch remained intact for the B-grade race, but there were many riders who tried their luck in establishing a breakaway. After a lengthy time overseas (and without a bike) Arron Hull showed he doesn't need too much training to regain his fitness levels. He combined with Frank Tortorici in the main break of the race.

With stong work being done by Lionie Aisbett and Lionel Covington the two were brought back. With 2km remaining Dave Morris attatcked, but Anthony Kneipp was fast to react. All came back together for the sprint to the line with Jeff Vaughan-Floyd, using the speed found from track racing, taking the win from Aisbett and Kneipp.

A-grade saw a fast and consistent pace throughout, with a number of attacks given little time off the front. Hans Battaerd is never one shy to attack and did so as soon as the race started. On the last lap Tim Morris and Keith Bennett tried to slip away but were soon caught. This set up a counter attack from Graham Rutter and Adam LeServe that stretched the field out as it approached the main climb with 9km remaining.

With strong climbing by Michael Comensoli and an even faster decent by James Greathead the break was reeled in. In the end it came down to a sprint with Morris winning from Bennett and Rutter.

Next weeks race is a 37.5km handicap and members are reminded to pre enter via the website.


A Grade - 37.5km

1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)              56.47
2 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)                
3 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)         
4 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)                
5 Michael Lanyon (Illawarra)               
6 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)            
7 James Greathead (Illawarra)              
8 Joe Williams (Illawarra)                 
9 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)                 
10 Adam Le Serve (Illawarra)           0.20
11 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)             0.27
12 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)                
B Grade - 37.5km

1 Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)    1.01.21
2 Leonie Aisbett (Illawarra)               
3 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)               
4 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)              
5 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)             
6 Philip Jones (Illawarra)                 
7 David Morris (Illawarra)             0.15
8 Arron Hull (Illawarra)                   
9 Peter Evans (Illawarra)                  
10 Paul Hooper (Illawarra)                 
11 Tony Burke (Illawarra)                  
12 Alan Vucko (Illawarra)                  
C Grade - 37.5km

1 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)             1.04.21
2 Glenn Gapps (Illawarra)                  
3 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)                   
4 Paul du Bois (Sutherland Shire)      0.29
5 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)          0.53
6 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)             2.00
7 Kieran Heffernan (Illawarra)         5.40
8 Elizabeth Bevan (Illawarra)         10.47
9 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)             11.51
DNF  Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)       
DNF  Hannah Lee (Illawarra)                

Local results 2007