Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bendigo Cycling Club

67km Emu Creek handicap, Victoria- Sunday, March 4, 2007

Twice around the Gooseneck

Sunday morning road racing was once again proving popular amongst the local riders with a field of 46 contesting the 67km handicap in great conditions. The heat of recent weeks eased and only a weak southerly breeze tested the riders on the false flats out to the Gooseneck, but kept the pace high on the return trip.

The first lap saw most gaps between the bunches almost halve. The scratch bunch didn't hold together with Tim Hucker an early casualty and Tem Dicker and Jack Bobridge stepping off after only one lap, this left Dave Pell and Tom Southam with a hefty task of chasing down the seven minute smooth pedallers in the 4 minute bunch. Up the field the 11 minute bunch was making good ground on the 16 minute bunch.

The 4 minute bunch crossed the 3 minute gap to the 7 minute group after Sedgewick and the fourteen strong group powered over the Gooseneck and had the mass of front markers in their sites on Axe Creek Road. The pace stayed high up the Exchange and the whole race came together with less than 5km to travel, with the exception of the scratch markers Pell and Southam whose chances of getting Fastest Time were looking grim.

In the finale it was John Macague from the 7 minute group who attacked hard on the final pinch on Emu Creek Road and quickly gained 100m gap on the field that didn't react. Out of the corner Peter Ladd had the bunch strung out and ex-Gerolsteiner Team Mechanic Darren Casey dropped his chain at 5th wheel and gaps opened in the bunch.

Macague held on to his slender lead across the line with the sprinters chasing him at over 70km/h. Jacob Lea lead the field home followed by Jamie Crass, Josh Gundry, Joe Stoltz and Rohan McCaig. Darren Casey was first unplaced Vet and Dave Pell rode away from Southam to take Fastest Time by a minute from the 4 minute markers.

Road Racing will resume after the long weekend with the Tony McCaig Memorial Handicap at Lake Neangar at 1pm Sunday March 18. See for more details.


1 John Macague        2.05.53
2 Jacob Lea 
3 Jamie Crass 
4 Josh Gundry 
5 Joe Stoltz 
6 Rohan McCaig

UP/V: Darren Casey 
F/T: Dave Pell        2.08.43

Local results 2007