Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Criterium, Monash - Tuesday, February 27, 2007

MacKirdys on fire

A Grade.
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)
B Grade's Chris Stevens
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)
D Grade.
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)
Peter Weston,
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)

Perfect conditions greeted the 18 riders for Tuesday night's Criterium held at Monash. Hamish MacKirdy made it three in a row for the A Grade competition whilst Lara MacKirdy returned to claim line honours for C Grade.

Brett Carpenter finished on a high after out sprinting Gordon Lawton. Their fellow D Grade riders battled it out for the minor placings with Angelo Ylia, Megan Taylor and Ralph Anderson finishing within a wheel of each other. Kade Boase made his race return but was unfortunately forced wide at the corner relegating him to 6th place ahead of John Eshman.

Averaging an incredible 34.5km/h, C Grade stayed strong and remained as a bunch for their 35-minute race. Lara MacKirdy took the lead down the final straight taking out first place ahead of Wayne Woosnam, Janine Webb and Peter Weston.

B Grade riders Greg Hatcher, Chris Stevens and Glen O'Brien appeared to drill each other for the best part of 35 minutes. Hatcher and Stevens had great pace, too strong for B Grade newcomer O'Brien, leaving him to chase from behind. Hatcher, Stevens and O'Brien re-grouped for the final laps to finish in a sprint down the home straight. Stevens was caught out leaving Greg Hatcher to claim first place, ahead of O'Brien who claimed second in the sprint but third overall.

Hamish MacKirdy, Nigel Willoughby, Matthew Benson and Lee Stevens had a fierce sprint battle to decide Tuesday night's A Grade results. Their 45-minute race saw some strong attacks along with some great group racing. In form MacKirdy was again the man to beat with Willoughby determined to defeat his rival. Stevens claimed fourth behind A Grade's promising junior athlete Matthew Benson who in turn followed Willoughby across the line.

Does Benson, Willoughby or Stevens have the race tactics to outdo their number one leader? Can O'Brien out fox his fellow B Graders and what about young Kade Boase, will his competitive spirit drive him home? To find out more visit or come out to a race. Scratch races will be held at Winkie on Sunday, 4th March followed by more Criterium action on Tuesday night.


A Grade (av 37.8km/h)

1 Hamish MacKirdy
2 Nigel Willoughby
3 Matthew Benson
4 Lee Stevens

B Grade

1 Greg Hatcher
2 Chris Stevens
3 Glen O'Brien

C Grade (av 34.5km/h)

1 Lara MacKirdy
2 Wayne Woosnam
3 Janine Webb
4 Peter Weston

D Grade

1 Brett Carpenter
2 Gordon Lawton
3 Angelo Ylia
4 Megan Taylor
5 Ralph Anderson
6 Kade Boase
7 John Eshman                  

Local results 2007