Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Series, Tuesday, February 27, 2007

By Mal Sawford

Bowman and Stalder
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Tom Walker
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
B Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Even grey skies and a little drizzle wasn't enough to keep riders away from Sandown on Tuesday night, with over 200 taking the punt that the circuit would stay dry. It was dry when racing started and stayed that way for all but a few minutes midway through racing, so all races were completed safely, although in much cooler conditions than have been the norm over the past few weeks.

A break of six opened a twenty second lead after fifteen minutes of the A Grade race, containing two riders from each of the season's dominant teams. Danny Kah and Vaughan Bowman were the SHM Cycles pair, while Anthony Smith and four time winner Andrew Stalder represented Promains. Pat Shaw (VIS) and Nathan Wise (Richmond Cyclery) completed the group.

Despite working well, the six couldn't hold off a determined chase by the bunch, with David Sturt (Giant) and CCCC Vice President Frank Cipriano putting in some big turns to bring the field back together with a little over twenty minutes to race. With three laps remaining, Kah attacked again with Gary Trowell for company, but wasn't able to shake off the chase.

Kah went away again at the bell, marked by Matt Chessum (SHM) and Chris D'Amelio. Despite never being more than five seconds behind, the thinly stretched chasing bunch never really got on terms, with only the strongest riders near enough to challenge for the win. Dylan Boone (The Rouler) reached Chessum's wheel and sprinted well to take his first win of the season, with Chessum a bike length behind but ahead of Dale Woonton, Kah and Andrew Stalder. A well timed throw allowed Smith to take the final prize, and keep Inexa Race Frames series leader Brendan Rowbotham (SHM) out of the points.

The B Grade bunch stayed intact for almost the entire race, with none of the early attacks lasting more than a few corners. Bruce Trew and Paul Weymouth saved their efforts for the final lap and went clear on the final climb, with Weymouth powering away through the final chicane to take a good win. Trew hung on to finish second, just ahead of the sprinters led home by David Whyman, Michael Vogt Melbourne Bicycle Centre) and Darren Sayers, with Lisa Friend (Drapac-Porsche) taking the women's division.

Daniel Noy and David Kneen escaped early in C Grade, and steadily built an unassailable lead. A chase group containing Spiros Mouzakis, Lee Clinnick, Leigh Rebbeck, Brent Tomlinson (Hampton Cycles), Jason Spencer and Brian Devlin also left the bunch behind but made no real impression on the lead pair.

Noy was too strong for Kneen in dash to the line, while Rebbeck and Spencer overhauled the hardworking Tomlinson in the final 100 metres to claim the minor places. Lorraine Meinke made her first visit to the circuit a winning one, taking the women's win ahead of Radelle Berriman.

Fred Bizouard (TCR) headed to the line looking a convincing winner of the D Grade bunch sprint, but an enthusiastic victory salute earned him both the wrath of the commissaires, costing him most of his prize money, and saw Andrew Heraud come within inches of snatching the victory. Next home were David Ward and Nick Kleiss, while a shoulder to shoulder sprint saw Suzannah Molloy just hold off Hannah Vine to win the women's race ahead of Andrea Bishop.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue on Sunday morning races at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades race at 9am, and A and C Grades ride at 10.45. Tuesday evenings are at Sandown Raceway. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6), with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt – there is a strict no licence no race policy in effect!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. Returning riders must resume in the grade in which they last raced, unless prior arrangements are made with the handicapper.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade (1 hour + 2 laps, 56 starters)
1 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)             
2 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)               
5 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)          
6 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)           
B Grade (55 minutes + 2 laps, 61 starters)
1 Paul Weymouth (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Bruce Trew (Mornington)                      
3 David Whyman (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Michael Vogt (Carnegie Caulfield)            
5 Darren Sayers (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Lisa Friend (Carnegie Caulfield)             
C Grade (50 minutes + 3 laps, 46 starters)
1 Daniel Noy (Casey Cardinia)                  
2 David Kneen (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Leigh Rebbeck (Mornington)                   
4 Jason Spencer (Blackburn)                    
1 Lorraine Meinke (Brunswick)                  
2 Radelle Berriman (Carnegie Caulfield)        
D Grade (45 minutes + 2 laps, 46 starters)
1 Fred Bizouard (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Andrew Heraud (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 David Ward (Carnegie Caulfield)              
4 Nick Kleiss (Carnegie Caulfield)             
1 Suzannah Molloy (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Hannah Vine (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)           

Local results 2007