Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Scratch race - Sunday, February 18, 2007

Morris wins...just!

Perfect weather brought out a large field of riders for the Illawarra Cycling Club 36km scratch race on Sunday February 18. 42 riders were split over 3 grades and the results went down to the wire, no more so than in the A-grade event.

The A-grade race was extremely animated with the first attack coming as soon as the riders set off. Hans Battaerd combined with Danny Hennessy in a strong move, but this was brought back with strong work from Craig Paull. The main split came at just over half distance. The pace was being driven hard at the front by Ben du Bois and Jeff Gray and riders were clambering in single file to hold on. Gaps opened under the pressure and with one lap to go only 6 riders remained in the front group.

The lead group consisted of du bois, Gray, Paull, Hennessy, Graham Rutter and Tim Morris. The race was far from over though with the bunch behind looking like it could regain at any moment. Morris tried to attack the field but was brought back , then with a little under 1km remaining Paull exploded from the bunch in what looked like the winning move. The remaining 5 riders were seemingly caught sleeping, all betting that anyone other than themselves would begin the chase and lead out the sprint.

With 500m to go Paulls' lead looked unassailable as Morris kicked from the group beginning his sprint, "I saw I had such a large gap and I decided to enjoy the moment a little too soon," explained Paull. "When I looked behind again I knew I was in trouble."

While Paull slowed, Morris was closing the gap fast and managed to take the victory by the smallest margin right on the line. 3rd place went to Hennessy.

In the B-grade event the pace was also high and there were moves a plenty, but in the end it came down to a bunch sprint. Neil Midgley took the win and was closely followed by Andrew Rutty and Ian Robinson.

The first 3 place getters in C-Grade had a combined age of 199 years. Age certainly didn't slow them down any as Dave Morris, not to be outdone by his son Tim, took the win from Vince O'Dwyer with Carlo Paiola taking 3rd.

Members are reminded that next Sunday race is a Criterium Haywards Bay. Don't forget to check the website for all the details. Vistors welcome.


A Grade - 36km
1 Tim Morris (Illawarra)         52.46
2 Craig Paull (Illawarra)             
3 Danny Hennessy (Sth Highlands)      
4 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)            
5 Ben du Bois (Illawarra)             
6 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)    
7 Michael Lanyon (Illawarra)      3.30
8 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)          
9 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)           
10 Peter Cooper (Illawarra)           
11 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)          
12 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)           
13 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)      
14 Joe Williams (Illawarra)           
B Grade - 36km
1 Neil Midgley (Illawarra)       57.06
2 Andrew Rutty (Illawarra)            
3 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)            
4 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)            
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)               
6 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)         
7 Peter Evans (Illawarra)             
8 Alan Vucko (Illawarra)              
9 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)        
C Grade - 36km
1 David Morris (Illawarra)     1.02.01
2 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)         
3 Carlo Paiola (Illawarra)        0.30
4 Paul du Bois (Sutherland Shire) 1.02

Local results 2007