Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Scratch race - Sunday, February 11, 2007

du Bois wins in a game of two-wheeled poker

While it is great to see some rain, it did drastically cut the numbers of riders brave (or crazy) enough to brave conditions to race. With over half of the entrants missing at the start line, the scheduled 45km handicap had to be cancelled. Instead a 27km graded scratch race was held with enough riders for two grades.

In the A-Grade event six riders took the start to what was going to end in a game of poker. Early on in the race Ben du Bois showed he had a good hand, with an impressive turn of speed. Ben is an internationally acclaimed mountain runner and he showed that he could set a good pace uphill on a bike as well. The group was cut down to four contenders at the table, when with about 2km to go James Greatheads laid his hand on the table with a solo attack.

Tim Morris and Drew Robertson worked to keep the gap manageable, while du Bois put on his poker face and played a waiting game. Morris attacked the group and closed the gap to within striking distance, but du Bois had seen the risk and with 300m to go had joined Morris, still slightly behind a tiring Greathead. On the line it was du Bois who had enough in reserve to take the win from Morris with Greathead third.

In the B-Grade event Joe Williams and Richard Lorenc broke away with over a lap to go. In chase behind Anthony Kneipp did a turn described as one of the best Lionel Covington has seen in a long while, but despite this strong showing the group failed to reel the breakaway in. In the end it was Williams who took the win from Lorenc, with club president Phil Jones taking third.

Next week the club will again hold its Thursday night racing for road bikes at Unanderra Velodrome at 6pm. On Sunday is a 36km scratch race.


A Grade - 27.0km
1 Ben du Bois (Illawarra)     39.57
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)           
3 James Greathead (Illawarra)      
4 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)       
5 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)        
6 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)      3.54
B Grade - 27.0km
1 Joe Williams (Illawarra)    42.38
2 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)       
3 Philip Jones (Illawarra)         
4 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)       
5 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)     
6 Jonathon Hull (Illawarra)    1.20
DNF Mark O'Keefe (Illawarra)      

Local results 2007