Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Sunday, December 30, 2007

Donnelly ends year on top

Aaron Donnelly won the last Illawarra Cycle Club race of the year outlasting Danny Hennessy and Tim Morris at the finish line. Traditionally, end of year races tend to be held over shorter distances and this usually means fast times. Graded handicap races also tend to be the fastest of races as well. This year was no exception.

Some 42 riders lined up in four bunches for a 27 km handicap race over three nine kilometre laps with nine minutes from the limit riders of Jenni Vaughn-Floyd, John Ruiz, Liz Bevan and Dennis Fitzgerald back to the scratch bunch.

The pace was set early by the C grade bunch starting three minutes behind limit. Lou Jonceski, Craig Brown, Jamie Gluszek, Leigh Jackson and Bruce MacIntryre worked selflessly to reel in the group in front to lead the race at the halfway point.

The B grade bunch, while strong in numbers and generously handicapped, seemed to suffer from a little post Christmas lethargy with evergreen Lionel Covington unable to inspire the bunch despite his best efforts.

A grade, meanwhile, were riding their usual efficient fast pace with Craig Paull, Hans Battaerd, Hennessy, Donnelly and Morris leading the bunch never losing focus on the front riders.

At the final turn toward the finish, with just over four kilometres to go, the A grade bunch only had the C grade bunch in front of them chasing, a deficient of just under a minute. With little over two kilometres to go MacIntyre punctured leaving Jackson, Gluszek and Jonceski out on their own. Gluszek headed for home and, Jonceski sensing the A grade bunch behind, tried a solo attack but was caught within sight of the line.

In the finishing straight Donnelly showed that experience is no match for the speed of youth and took a well deserved win from Hennessy, Morris, Drew Robertson, Tony Pulo and Craig Paull

The biggest cheers of the day were reserved for the nine kilometre Junior Scratch race placegetters of Hayley Mandy first , Paige Mandy in second place with Miranda Vaughn-Floyd in third.


All In - 27.0km

1 Aaron Donnelly (Illawarra)        38.04
2 Danny Hennessy (Illawarra)             
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                 
4 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)             
5 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                  
6 Craig Paull (Illawarra)                
7 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)               
8 Andrew Rutty (Nowra)               3.00
9 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)              
10 Jamie Gluszek (Illawarra)         6.07
11 Greg Brown (Illawarra)            3.07
12 Leonie Burford (Illawarra)        0.07
13 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)          6.14
14 Leigh Jackson (Illawarra)         6.21
15 Glenn Gapps (Illawarra)           3.39
16 Con Karlis (Illawarra)                
17 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)            
18 Craig Brown (Illawarra)           7.01
19 D Wolsley (Illawarra)             4.01
20 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)          
21 Tony Burke (Illawarra)                
22 Dennis Fitzgerald (Illawarra)    10.01
23 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)          11.00
24 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)           5.00
25 Robert Heinandez (Illawarra)          
26 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)        6.04
27 T Cranston (Illawarra)                
28 Phillip Mullany (Illawarra)       6.30
29 Eric Haakonssen (Illawarra)       3.42
30 Joshua Carlson (Illawarra)            
31 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)                
32 Peter Evans (Illawarra)           6.42
33 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)                 
34 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)               
35 Elizabeth Bevan (Illawarra)      13.42
36 Juan Ruiz (Illawarra)            13.52
DNF Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)      
DNF Frank Soto (Illawarra)               
DNF Alex Verdi (Illawarra)               
DNF Ian Robinson (Illawarra)             
DNF Steve Westa (Illawarra)              
DNF Bruce MacIntyre (Illawarra)          
All In - 9.0km

1 Hayley Mandy (Illawarra)          22.19
2 Paige Mandy (Illawarra)            0.11
3 Miranda Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)  2.08            

Results 2007