Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Sunday, December 23, 2007

Christmas Forrest

There was a good turn out and sunny conditions for the last race before Christmas, a short 27 km group scratch race. It gave the regions cyclists a good chance to burn off some of those extra calories that always seem to get consumed in the festive season.

The A-Grade event was a fast paced affair with little opportunity of a break succeeding. Michael Laynon, Craig Paull, Eric Haakonssen and Tim Morris kept the pace high but that didn't stop some strong attacking riding from Matt Hennessy.

The race was destined to come down to a bunch sprint and in the end it was a closely contested finish. Tony Pulo was keen dedicate the victory to his newly born child, but the birthing ward is not the ideal place in the lead up to a race and he faded towards the line. Seasoned campaigner John Forrest from Canberra, who was visiting his parents in the Illawarra, took the win. Second was Gary Mandy followed by Craig Paull in third.

The B-Grade event saw Ian Robinson take the victory after some time away from racing. Con Karlis was second with an improving John Danzo in third.

Jamie Glusek held off Bobby Krstevski and Leigh Jackson to take the C grade race.


A Grade - 27.0km

1 John Forrest (Canberra)             39.35
2 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)                   
3 Craig Paull (Illawarra)                  
4 Eric Haakonssen (Illawarra)              
5 Michael Lanyon (Illawarra)               
6 Mathew Hennessy (Nowra)                  
7 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                    
8 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)                 
9 Mathew Guggisberg (Non-Member)           
10 Joe Williams (Illawarra)                
11 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)             
12 Tim Morris (Illawarra)                  
13 Drew Robertson (Illawarra)          2.00
14 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)    3.00
B Grade - 27.0km

1 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)            42.57
2 Con Karlis (Illawarra)                   
3 John Danzo (Illawarra)                   
4 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)                    
5 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)                   
6 Robert Heinandez (Illawarra)             
7 Philip Jones (Illawarra)                 
8 Glenn Gapps (Illawarra)                  
9 Diego Diaz (Illawarra)                   
10 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)            
11 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)                 
12 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)              
13 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)                 
14 Suzi Boer (Canberra)                    
C Grade - 27.0km

1 Jamie Gluszek (Illawarra)           43.21
2 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)              
3 Leigh Jackson (Illawarra)                
4 David Hull (Illawarra)                   
5 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)                 
6 Bruce MacIntyre (Illawarra)              
7 Craig Brown (Illawarra)                  
8 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)                
9 Kirsten Arnold (Illawarra)               
10 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)                 

Results 2007