Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel Cycling Club

Criterium Series #5, Greenfields, Sunday, December 16, 2007

Prior to the Christmas break three grades were contested in the Peel cycling club's criterium series with Andrew Crack, Alan Cluning and Rob Davis taking the honours.

C Grade were first out of the blocks on a tight circuit in favourable conditions. Rob Davis, Tony Ridgley and Tony Van Merwyk kept the tempo high while sharing the workload. But it all came down to the bell lap with Davis and Van Merwyk slipping away with Ridgley and Stan Baker desperately holding on. Davis in good form of late held out Van Merwyk, Ridgley was out of sorts on the final corner which saw Baker come through to take third place.

Andrew Crack scored back-to-back wins with another timely finish in A Grade. The senior grade were unexpectedly under the pump from the word go with Steve Ware forcing the issue. Russell Fryer and Crack joined Ware while Laurie Longworth and Paul Slocome were desperate to stay in touch, an inform Crack in the run to the line got the measure of Ware with Fryer third.

In B Grade, continued attacks and strong riding from Fraser Hanlan could not stop Alan Cluning taking line honours. Andy Bennett was an early casualty with a wheel malfunction, Phil Edwards was unlucky to lose contact early and Richard Le Tessier was very much in the hunt.

A decisive move by Cluning to take the front running leading into the tight last corner gave him the win from Le Tessier then Hanlan third.

Racing resumes on the 6th of January at Smeaton Way Rockingham at 9am.

New members are always welcome for more information go to or call 08 9525 2817


A Grade - 45 minutes

1 Andrew Crack
2 Steve Ware
3 Russell Fryer
4 Paul Slocombe
5 Laurie Longworth

B Grade - 35 minutes

1 Alan Cluning
2 Richard Le Tessier
3 Fraser Hanlan
4 Phil Edwards
C Grade - 25 minutes

1 Rob Davis
2 Tony van Merwyk
3 Stan Baker
4 Tony Ridgley
5 Peter Moyses

Results 2007