Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Sunday, December 16, 2007

Terechovs takes first and fastest

Cool calm conditions greeted riders for the 37.5 km ICC handicap race at Huntley on Sunday morning with the earlier showers holding off for the duration of the race. With 13 Illawarra riders attending the State Criterium Race at Cronulla, 27 riders were placed in five groups between the scratchmen consisting of Eric Haakonssen, Michael Lanyon, Mark Davis and Aaron Techerovs, and limit rider Juan Ruiz who was given 16 minutes start.

Ruiz set off with a seven and a half minute buffer to the next group containing Bruce McIntyre, Kirsten Arnold, David Allen, Roger Phillips and Andy Shannon. Shannon punctured after only five kilometres and strong riding by the six minute group of Lou Jonceski, Isaac Beard, David Hull and Lee Jackson saw them close a two and a half minute gap by half race distance, a fine effort.

Meanwhile at the back end of the race the flying scratchmen had already caught the one minute 'block' group containing Abe Martin, Vince Morrissey, Brad Martin and Frank Tortorici two km before the end of the first lap. These eight riders then set off after the combined three minute and five minute groups who were the meat in the sandwich, 22 seconds ahead of scratch/block and 1:16 behind the front group.

Ruiz was riding well solo at the front of the race and held a four minute buffer over the front group which had lost Arnold to a puncture. But it was clear that that the day would belong to the scratchmen as they closed the 22 seconds to the middle group in four kilometres, catching them on Hooker Hill. Techerovs was in shining form, his strong turns had his teammates gasping for air as he drove the backmarkers in pursuit of the last remaining group on the road.

It all came together on Hooker Hill as the back markers and middle markers caught the front group which had just picked up Ruiz. With nine kilometres to race the speed men set sail for the finish at 45 - 50 kph with everyone else desperately chasing wheels and trying to hang on. The hill at the dogtrack saw a few riders lose contact but some C graders managed to stay with the big guns through to the finish, an excellent effort indeed.

Two kilometres from home Eric "The Viking" attempted to steal the show with a breakaway but he was shut down. No-one was able to hold Terechov's wheel as he powered down the finish straight in impressive fashion. "Mr T" took the title of "First and Fastest" as well as the prizemoney for the day. Behind the winner followed Vince Morrissey, Abe Martin, Brad Martin and Frank Tortorici. Sixth placed Mark Davis took second fastest time.


All In - 37.5km
1 Aaron Terechovs (Illawarra)      56.20
2 Vincent Morrissey (Illawarra)     2.00
3 Abe Martin (Illawarra)                
4 Brad Martin (Illawarra)               
5 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)           
6 Mark Davis (Illawarra)                
7 Eric Haakonssen (Illawarra)           
8 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)             5.00
9 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)     3.00
10 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)     5.00
11 Diego Diaz (Illawarra)           6.00
12 Daniel Silveri (Illawarra)       5.00
13 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)         6.00
14 Glenn Gapps (Illawarra)          5.00
15 John Danzo (Illawarra)               
16 Bruce MacIntyre (Illawarra)      8.30
17 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)           3.00
18 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)          7.17
19 Isaac Beard (Illawarra)          8.26
20 David Hull (Illawarra)               
21 Juan Ruiz (Illawarra)           18.34
22 David Allen (Illawarra)         13.54
DNF Kirsten Arnold (Illawarra)          
DNF Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)          
DNF Ian (Roger) Phillips (Illawarra)    
DNF Leigh Jackson (Illawarra)           
DNF Michael Lanyon (Illawarra)          

Results 2007