Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Sunday December 9, 2007

Hot Hennessey

Danny Hennessey won Sunday's 37 km A grade scratch race with Tony Pulo a close second. After a week of stormy weather Illawarra Cycle Club riders were treated to hot and steamy conditions for the two laps to Marshal Mount Hall and back.

Craig Paull always likes a hard race and he was keen to force a break in the first lap. Paull broke away with Hennessey but the rest of the riders led by Hans Battaerd and Tony Pulo were able to reel the pair in. The second lap was raced at an unusually pedestrian speed, perhaps due to the heat, which meant no break established itself until near the end of the race.

Hennessey and Pulo finally broke from the pack and were able to cross the line with Eric Haakonssen leading an unlucky Paull home for third place five seconds behind Hennessey.

Frank Tortorici continued his recent run of good form in B grade and won the race from Dave Russell after the pair finally managed to break away after much aggressive riding through the race.

The B grade race became the bee grade race when an early breakaway attempt by John Danzo was foiled when he suffered a bee sting to his head inside his helmet.

Richie Lorenc did plenty of the hard work closing gaps that formed with Lionel Covington also keen to keep the breaks under control.

Tortorici and Russell finished 20 seconds clear of third placed Dean Kelly with Michael Comensoli finishing fourth.

The 15 strong C grade race field included four new starters.

Kieran Heffernan won the race in a sprint finish from improving rider Isaac Beard and first time Illawarra racer Ben Braddock. Leigh Jackson led the chasing bunch home followed by Bobby Krstevski and Jamie Gluszek sixth, also riding his first race.

Kirsten Arnold and David Allen were also racing for the first time and are to be congratulated for fine efforts in the hot conditions.


Junior - 10km
1 Steven Russell (Illawarra)        21.22
2 Hayley Mandy (Illawarra)           0.50
3 Paige Mandy (Illawarra)            2.53
A Grade - 37.5km
1 Danny Hennessy (Illawarra)      1.01.39
2 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)                  
3 Eric Haakonssen (Illawarra)        0.05
4 Craig Paull (Illawarra)                
5 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)          0.12
6 David McMaster (Illawarra)             
7 Mathew Guggisberg (Non-Member)         
8 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)       
B Grade - 37.5km
1 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)     1.02.54
2 David Russell (Illawarra)              
3 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)             2.20
4 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)          
5 Con Karlis (Illawarra)             2.26
6 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)                  
7 Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)         
8 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)                 
9 Philip Jones (Illawarra)               
10 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)          
11 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)            
12 Diego Diaz (Illawarra)            5.01
13 Nathan Cullan (Illawarra)         6.58
DNF Peter Kelly (Illawarra)              
DNF Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)           
DNF John Danzo (Illawarra)               
C Grade - 37.5km
1 Kieran Heffernan (Illawarra)    1.09.52
2 Isaac Beard (Illawarra)                
3 Ben Braddock (Illawarra)               
4 Leigh Jackson (Illawarra)          0.07
5 Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)            
6 Jamie Gluszek (Illawarra)              
7 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)               
8 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)                
9 Craig Brown (Illawarra)                
10 Geoff Pollard (Illawarra)             
11 Kirsten Arnold (Illawarra)        0.59
12 Lou Jonceski (Illawarra)          6.16
13 David Allen (Illawarra)           8.04
14 Juan Ruiz (Illawarra)            10.47
DNF Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)           

Results 2007