Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums, Sunday December 2, 2007

The winning A Grade break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
James Shepherdson leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Jenny Macpherson looked
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Not much of a chase from
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

A bit of a quiet day at Glenvale, with many CCCC riders in Bright for the pain fest that is the Tour of Bright (now with added Hotham). As a result, there were 'only' 180 riders to battle a strong northerly wind around the 1.1 kilometre Glenvale Crescent circuit.

Constant attacks, and the toughness of just holding a wheel in the wind saw the A Grade bunch shed riders on almost every lap. By the time the day's main break had gone clear, with Andrew Stalder (Promains/Richmond Cyclery), Dylan Boone (Inexa Race Frames), Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles), Matt Shea (Naughty Boy) and Paul Mason up the road, there were only around fifteen riders left in the chase group.

Having missed the move, the CCCC/SHM Elite contingent kept the pace high, until Brendan Rowbotham and Danny Kah started a chase group, joined by Cam Carlyle (Pro-Motion Bicycles), Anthony Smith (Promains/Richmond Cyclery), Peter Trigar (Mascot Cycles) and a very light-headed part time journo. Out front, Mason worked himself to exhaustion but couldn't hold the pace as the break lapped all but the chase group, leaving just 10 riders on the circuit.

Stalder made no mistake in the sprint to the line, and was too quick for Boone despite Knevitt's lead out. Smith led the chasers home comfortably, with Rowbotham taking the final prize just ahead of Trigar.

B Grade also saw an early break dominate proceedings. James Shepherdson (Datacom/Burnley Finance), Jason Kruger and visiting US rider Ryan Starr worked well, but were aided in their escape by the bunch's apparent ignorance that a chase was needed.

The quartet had the bunch in the same straight after forty-five minutes, and took the lap with five minutes to race. Starr led out the sprint down the left hand gutter, but Macpherson had the speed to come past for a good win, making her one of a very select number of women to take an outright win against the B Grade men. Kane Walker took the final prize as best of the rest, with Clare Vlahopoulos the next woman home.

Four man breaks were clearly the order of the day, with Craig French, Gary Doggett, Spiros Mouzakis and Neil Walker making the winning move in C Grade after fifteen minutes as the bunch splintered in the windy conditions.

With the bunch out of contention, French dropped his companions with a little over ten minutes remaining and soloed to an impressive win, and promotion to B Grade. Doggett took the sprint for second ahead of recent track convert Mouzakis and Walker, while Rebecca Domange took the women's prize as the first woman home in the main bunch.

Even D Grade had a four main break that looked home and hosed after thirty minutes. Juniors Josh Krause (Brighton Cycles) and Nathan Corrigan-Mart attacked at the fifteen minute mark and were joined a couple of laps later by George Vissariou and Mark Mennen. With fifteen minutes remaining however, Vissariou and Mennen lost contact and were swallowed up by a chase group, and the two remaining youngsters didn't have the horsepower to hold off the organised chase.

After a bit of a breather, the pair found their second wind, and lifted the tempo again in the closing stages. Krause, now training with Hilton Clarke as part of CCCC's JDP High Performance Program, rode clear at two to go, and held on for an impressive win. Robin Donohue led the chasers home, matching his second place a week earlier, ahead of Rick Sanders and Corrigan-Mart. Shae Thomas (Degani Coffee) and Andrea Bishop took the women's prizes at the pointy end of the main bunch.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade
1 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Matt Shea (Carnegie Caulfield)               
4 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)          
5 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)           
6 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)       
B Grade
1 Jenny Macpherson (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Ryan Starr (USA)                             
3 Jason Kruger (Warragul)                      
4 James Shepherdson (Carnegie Caulfield)       
5 Kane Walker (Warragul)                       
1 Jenny macpherson (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Clare Vlahopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)       
C Grade
1 Craig French (Hawthorn)                      
2 Gary Doggett (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Spiros Mouzakis (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Neil Walker (Warragul)                       
1 Rebecca Domange (Carnegie Caulfield)         
D Grade
1 Josh Krause (Carnegie Caulfield)             
2 Robin Donohue (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Rick Sanders (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Nathan Corrigan-Mart (Carnegie Caulfield)    
1 Shae Thomas (Carnegie Caulfield)             
2 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)           
Racing Clinic
1 Luke Wylie (Blackburn)                       
2 Adam Pendlebury (Blackburn)                  
3 Pat Tibbals (Blackburn)                      
4 Jack Hickey (Carnegie Caulfield)             
Pink Inc Women's Clinic
1 Sue Madden (Carnegie Caulfield)              
2 Bernadette Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Mauela Marasco (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Sandra Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield)                              

Results 2007