Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Modella, Saturday, August 18, 2007

By Mal Sawford

A Grade tackle Heath Hill.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Matt Chessum would have to settle for second.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Neale Sturt and Gary Simondson attacked B Grade.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Brent Tomlinson and Scott Berry 1-2'ed the B Grade bunch.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
C Grade turn onto the Westernport Road.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
David Tennant takes the C Grade win.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Jamie Blaker launches his attack in D Grade.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Suzannah Molloy takes up the chase ahead of Munro Boydell.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

A fine, still and relatively warm day greeted riders at Modella this afternoon. A decent sized field took advantage of the great conditions, although the A Grade and women's numbers were down with many riders tackling the Ballarat Australian Grand Prix. Congratulations to Nicole Whitburn, for her fantastic solo win in this morning's criterium, and to Jenny Macpherson who claimed third place, four seconds ahead of Nicole in Friday's time trial.

The first pass over Heath Hill saw the A Grade bunch remain intact, before champion mountain biker Murray Spink (Giant) turned the screws on the steeper climb of Ripplebrook, leaving five riders in contention. Staying with Spink were Matt Chessum (CCCC/SHM Elite), Pete Johnstone (Subito/Inexa), Gerard Donnelly (Celtic Décor) and Dean Heathcote.

The second lap saw Spink try in vain to escape: his constant attacks did spell the end for Heathcote however. Approaching the finish, Spink was forced to lead out, before Chessum stepped out with 300 metres to travel. Neither could respond to Johnstone's acceleration, with the 16 year old sensation making it three wins from three starts - after taking the Victorian under 19 championships and the Rob Vernon Memorial in the past two weekends.

Neale Sturt (Portfolio Partners) and Gary Simondson (Top Gear Cycles) jumped away from the B Grade bunch before the Heath Hill climb, and built a lead of over a minute by the end of the first lap. Back in the bunch, Hampton Cycles young guns Scott Berry and Brent Tomlinson made things difficult as they took turns to attack. Berry eventually reached the lead pair as Simondson tired, and worked well with Sturt to crest the final climb just ahead of the bunch.

A well paced effort by Berry and Sturt saw them hold off the bunch by mere metres, with Sturt allowing the youngster to take the win. Gary Rosengarten was fastest of the chasers, with Tomlinson, Frank Donnelly (Celtic Décor), Daniel Lewis-Toakley and Simondson also finishing in the front group.

C Grade had the biggest field of the day, and set a tempo on the opening lap that saw the majority of the bunch still smiling as the crossed the finish line at the end of the first lap. A dozen were still in contention after the second ascension of Heath Hill before the steepness of Ripplebrook finally took its toll, leaving just seven to fight out the win.

David Tennant sprinted home a convincing winner, ahead of Daniel Lancaster, Craig Porter and George Sutton. Debbie Hobbs took the women's win, finishing just under two minutes down on the leaders.

The D Grade bunch tackled one lap of the circuit, and as the bunch reached the foothills of the climbs along the Westernport Highway, Jamie Blaker powered away and built a twenty second lead. Stephanie McGrath (Melbourne Uni) set off in a successful pursuit that saw her reach Blaker before the twisting descent before the Ripplebrook climb.

Blaker couldn't hold McGrath's wheel on the steep pitch and dropped back to the chase group led by Suzannah Molloy, Nathan Corrigan and Luke Parker, while the dimunitive triathlete powered on towards the line, eventually finishing nearly a minute clear.

Local junior Corrigan bested Parker in a tight sprint to the line, while Blaker had just enough left in his tank to claim fourth ahead of Molloy.


A Grade 78km                                 

1 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)    
2 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)               
3 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders)                      
4 Gerard Donnelly (Carnegie Caulfield)        0.09
5 Dean Heathcote (QLD)                        1.39
6 Sebastian Guiney (Carnegie Caulfield)       2.39
7 Steve Hickey (Chelsea & Peninsula)          4.35
8 Sam Beveridge (Latrobe City)                    
9 Nick Aitken (Leongatha)                     6.12
10 Adam Mulford (Carnegie Caulfield)          7.08
B Grade
1 Scott Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Neale Sturt (Carnegie Caulfield)                
3 Gary Rosengarten (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Brent Tomlinson (Carnegie Caulfield)            
5 Frank Donnelly (Carnegie Caulfield)             
6 Daniel Lewis-Toakley (Carnegie Caulfield)       
7 Gary Simondson (Carnegie Caulfield)             
8 Kevin Murphy (Hawthorn)                     0.10
9 Rick Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)             0.14
10 Clint Van Beveren (Carnegie Caulfield)     0.18
11 Alister Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield)       0.21
12 Darren Sayers (Carnegie Caulfield)         2.50
13 Russell Hunt (Carnegie Caulfield)          3.48
14 Manuel Lawrence (Blackburn)                4.32
C Grade
1 David Tennant (Hawthorn)                 
2 Daniel Lancaster (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Craig Porter (Carnegie Caulfield)               
4 George Sutton (Blackburn)                       
5 George Ward (Carnegie Caulfield)                
6 Rob Pagey (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
7 Lee Imrie (Carnegie Caulfield)              0.14
8 Kristian Kallaur (MTBA)                     1.27
9 Spiros Mouzakis (Carnegie Caulfield)        1.31
10 Steve Brooks (Carnegie Caulfield)          1.59
11 Debra Hobbs (Carnegie Caulfield)               
12 Neale Adams (Carnegie Caulfield)           2.20
13 Joe Siklic (St Kilda)                          
14 Dale Reith (Blackburn)                     2.47
15 Peter Vlahos (Carnegie Caulfield)          5.23
16 Nicholas Enright (Carnegie Caulfield)          
17 Cameron Rotter (Carnegie Caulfield)       10.51
18 Graham Prosser (Carnegie Caulfield)       11.04
D Grade
1 Stephanie McGrath (Melbourne Uni)        
2 Nathan Corrigan (Carnegie Caulfield)        0.58
3 Luke Parker (Carnegie Caulfield)                
4 Jamie Blaker (Carnegie Caulfield)               
5 Suzannah Molloy (Carnegie Caulfield)            
6 Jacob Schmid (Carnegie Caulfield)           1.28
7 Munro Boydell (Carnegie Caulfield)          2.43
8 Christine Ervin (Blackburn)                     
9 Mark Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
10 John Groves (Carnegie Caulfield)               
11 Clement Boydell (Carnegie Caulfield)       7.06
12 Grant Boydell (Carnegie Caulfield)         7.21
13 Iain Aitchison (Carnegie Caulfield)       11.05

Local results 2007