Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

50km Handicap Stan Heritage Memorial, Murtho, Loveday, Sunday, August 12, 2007

Stevens makes it 2 from 2

Angus Boase & Lee Stevens.
Photo ©: Riverland Cycling Club
(Click for larger image)
Claire Treilibs & Peter Weston.
Photo ©: Riverland Cycling Club
(Click for larger image)
Lee Stevens, Amy Heritage, Mick Gray & Angus Boase.
Photo ©: Riverland Cycling Club
(Click for larger image)

The annual Stan Heritage memorial race was staged at Murtho on Sunday with previous winners and competitors eager for the win. Amy Heritage was there to support the riders and present the winners with their trophies on behalf of the Heritage family; honouring her grandfather Stan.

Gordon Lawton was our official lone rider who began the proceedings racing off-limit. Angelo Ylia and John Eshman had to wait a further 17.5-minutes before they could begin followed by Claire Treilibs and Peter Weston 2.5-minutes later. Lawton had a 24.5-minute advantage over last week's winner Chris Stevens and former fastest time rider Mick Gray; their buffer over scratchmen Angus Boase and Lee Stevens reduced to just 4.5-minutes.

Our official followed in hot pursuit to try and catch a glimpse of the riders ahead. Much to her amazement the scratchmen were already 4km down the road, chasing hard at the pair in front. The 50-55-minute mark saw Treilibs, Weston, Ylia and Eshman together but the acceleration was too much for the latter two; unable to hang on until the end. Lawton was 20 kilometres from the finish when C. Stevens & Gray finally passed for their outward leg of the course, but he was already facing the head wind on his return home. Boase and L. Stevens remained strong, cranking the pedals over to try and reel in the remaining field, making the most of the slight tailwind for their outward journey reaching over 50 kilometres per hour.

Lee, Angus, Mick and Chris may have been the last to leave but had an incredible race, claiming the top four positions along with the fastest individual time. Lee claimed first and fastest in a time of 1:18'23”10 followed by Boase and Gray. Treilibs and Weston remained together for the entire 50km event with Weston relegated to 6 th place ahead of Lawton , Eshman and Ylia.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Riverland Cycling Club


1 Lee Stevens FT    1.18.23
2 Angus Boase          0.02
3 Mick Gray            4.41
4 Chris Stevens        5.34
5 Claire Treilibs     10.07
6 Peter Weston             
7 Gordon Lawton       31.43
8 John Eshman         16.45
9 Angelo Ylia         17.38

Local results 2007