Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Glossop 42km Handicapped Road Race, South Australia, October 8, 2006


Wilson won his first
Photo ©: Amanda Steele
(Click for larger image)

Waikerie's Craig Wilson Wins at Glossop

Waikerie's Craig Wilson won his first cycling title on Sunday, winning the Riverland Cycling Club's Glossop 42km Handicapped Road Race. Amanda Steele and Angelo Ylia were the first to set off into the blustery conditions.

Boase Gray and Stevens enjoyed the
Photo ©: Amanda Steele
(Click for larger image)

Leaving at eight minutes, the grouping of Peter Weston, Craig Wilson, Marcus Whitting and Bob Pankhurst soon fragmented, with Weston and Wilson breaking away. Angus Boase and Mick Gray were joined by Craig Ward and Lee Stevens, forming a super-group in an effort to keep scratch starter Hamish MacKirdy at bay.

All riders found the conditions difficult along Puddletown Road, with a strengthening and direct headwind slowing speeds down to a crawl. Megan Taylor and Pankhurst had to withdraw from the race due to punctures, and Ward due to illness.

Mid way through the third lap, Weston and Wilson caught Steele and Ylia, and the group worked well together to hold off a challenge from chasing riders. Reaching speeds of over 60km/hr along Slaven Road, Wilson narrowly claimed first place from Ylia, with Steele claiming third and Weston a close forth. MacKirdy claimed the fastest time title in 1:11:27.

Riders also enjoyed a social ride with BikeSA members on Saturday. Nearly 100 riders took part in a Club-guided tour around the Riverland region which took in cafe stops and a river cruise.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Amanda Steele


1 Craig Wilson
2 Angelo Ylia
3 Amanda Steele
4 Peter Weston
5 Lee Stevens
6 Angus Boase
7 Hamish MacKirdy
8 Mick Gray
9 Marcus Whitting
DNF Megan Taylor 
DNF Craig Ward 
DNF Bob Pankhurst

Local results 2006