Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, December 11, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Shaun Higgerson
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The B Grade bunch
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Darren Sayers
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Peter Walker
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
New riders get personal service
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Great weather brought another huge field to Glenvale Crescent, when organisers had been expecting a bit of a quiet day. Well over 200 riders took to the start line, and the big bunches and still conditions meant high speeds were the order of the day.
Hilton Clarke (Navigators) had his first competitive outing for the summer, and with break away specialists like Robert Tighello (Richmond Cyclery) and Aaron Salisbury (HLP) in the bunch, the chances of a bunch sprint were slim.

As expected, the first ten minutes were raced at a furious pace, with Tighello and Brendan Rowbotham (SHM Cycles) featuring in the first ill-fated move. The attack that stuck came after twenty minutes, and staying with Tigs and Clarke to the finish were MG Xpower/Big Pond) team mates Shaun Higgerson and Darren Lapthorne, Marcus Wettenhall (Tri-2-Cycle) and Tour of Bright winner Domenic Gatto (Richmond Cyclery)
Tighello soloed away from the break with a little over two laps remaining, to score his second win of the season. Wettenhall jumped the rest of the break half way round the final lap to take second, while Clarke had little trouble taking the sprint for third ahead of Higgerson.

Will Tehan (Prime Estate) took the B Grade win with a great sprint which gapped the big bunch. Paul Southey (Burnley Finance) wasn't far off in second place ahead of Hayden Green (Hampton Cycles), while fourth saw Peta Mullens (BikeNOW) become the first woman on the overall podium since Anna Wilson's heydays.
Tess Downing (Drapac Porsche Development) was the second woman home, showing no ill effects from her triple Gold efforts at the Oceania Road and Track Championships in New Zealand last week, with the final prize going to the consistent Rachel Rademaker (Cycle Link).

Darren Sayers had the C Grade bunch strung out for much of the race, and had the regular sprinters on the ropes. An attack at two to go saw new rider John Park ride away un-noticed by too many of the fast men, as Park had the strength to hold on to take the win twenty metres ahead of the bunch.
Alister Stuart sprinted home thinking he had the win wrapped up, only to find second place was his reward, with the equally unobservant Matt White and Daryl Pate next across the line in the bunch sprint! Michelle Murrell's string of Women's wins continued ahead of Denise Betts and Brittany Foster (Team UNO), but a new rider will get the chance at a win next week as Michelle will tackle B Grade.

Lanky Jason Swackhamer claimed his maiden win with a good sprint in D Grade, just ahead of youngsters Dean Berry (Bicycle Superstore) and Peter Walker - both of whom are ready to step up to C Grade. Another young rider, Oliver LeGrice, showed the benefits of racing with the seniors on the track as he flew home in fourth place. Clare Vlahopolous won the Women's division from Nana Jernstrom and Melissa Nicholls

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Tuesday evenings at Sandown, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am.
All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Marcus Wettenhall (Ballarat - Sebastapol)    
3 Hilton Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Shaun Higgerson (NSW)                        
5 Domenic Gatto (Brunswick)                    
6 Darren Lapthorne (Coburg)                    
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Will Tehan (Carnegie Caulfield)              
2 Paul Southey (St Kilda)                      
3 Haydn Green (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)                  
5 Peter Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)             
1 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)                  
2 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Rachel Rademaker (Blackburn)                 
C Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 John Park (Carnegie Caulfield)               
2 Alister Stuart (MTBA)                        
3 Matt White (Carnegie Caulfield)              
4 Darryl Pate (Carnegie Caulfield)             
1 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)                
2 Denise Betts (Blackburn)                     
3 Brittany Foster (Geelong)                    
D Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Jason Swackhamer (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Dean Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)              
3 Peter Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)            
4 Oliver LeGrice (Carnegie Caulfield)          
1 Clare Vlahopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Nana Jernstrom (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Melissa Nichols (Carnegie Caulfield)         
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Darren Weitening (Mornington)                
2 Russ Dark (Carnegie Caulfield)               
3 George Vissariou (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Haydn Paynter (Carnegie Caulfield)            

Local results 2004