Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Omloop van de Vlaamse Scheldeboorden - Bazel - Kruibeke - 1.1

Belgium, September 30, 2008

2007 Results   Results    Past winners

Quick Weylandt steps up for victory

Quick Step's Wouter Weylandt out sprinted Dutch rival Hans Dekker (Mitsubishi-Jartazi) to claim victory at the 20th Omloop van de Vlaamse Scheldeboorden. Another Wouter rounded out the podium, with Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner's Wouter Van Mechelen claiming third spot.

Quick Step pulled back a threatening breakaway of three riders to set Weylandt up for victory. The trio had pulled out a 10 minute buffer on the peloton, but the big Belgian brigade weren't going to beaten on home soil as Weylandt stepped up to his fifth win of 2008.

"I'm very happy with this victory," said Weylandt. "I have to thank the entire team, which did a great job catching up a breakaway. In the final, Van Impe drove me brilliantly in the last kilometre, putting me in the perfect position to win the sprint.

The victory is just one of several goals Weylandt has before season's end, according to the rider.

"After the Vuelta Espańa I tried to maintain a high training intensity and stay concentrated," he said. "Now I want to stay in shape until the end of the season to try to reach some other goals."


1 Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step                                  4.05.00 (48.00 km/h)
2 Hans Dekkers (Ned) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
3 Wouter Van Mechelen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
4 Kristof Goddaert (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
5 Niko Eeckhout (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
6 Vytautas Kaupas (Ltu) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
7 Alexandre Usov (Blr) AG2R La Mondiale
8 Jürgen Roelandts (Bel) Silence - Lotto
9 Roy Curvers (Ned) Skil-Shimano
10 Kasper Jebjerg (Den) Team Designa Křkken
11 Alex Rasmussen (Den) Team Designa Křkken
12 Matej Stare (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
13 Joachim Tolles (Ger) Team Kuota - Senges
14 Ken Devaere (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto - Jong Vlaanderen
15 Sven Renders (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
16 Michael Tornborg Christensen (Den) Team Designa Křkken
17 Bastiaan Giling (Ned) Cycle Collstrop
18 Luc Hagenaers (Ned) P3Transfer - Batavus
19 Joost Van Leijen (Ned) Van Vliet - EBH Elshof
20 Matthé Pronk (Ned) Cycle Collstrop
21 Wouter Mol (Ned) P3Transfer - Batavus
22 Rikke Dijkxhoorn (Ned) Van Vliet - EBH Elshof
23 Laurent Mangel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
24 Sven Wielandt (Bel) Profel Prorace Continental Team
25 Roy Sentjens (Bel) Silence - Lotto
26 Frank Dressler (Ger) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
27 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) P3Transfer - Batavus
28 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
29 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
30 Timothy Vangheel (Bel) P3Transfer - Batavus
31 Andy Cappelle (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
32 René Joergensen (Den) Team Designa Křkken
33 Mitja Mahoric (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
34 Stijn Joseph (Bel) Quick Step
35 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Quick Step
36 Thomas Guldhammer (Den) Team Designa Křkken
37 James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
38 Gregor Gazvoda (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
39 Steven De Neef (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto - Jong Vlaanderen
40 Albert Timmer (Ned) Skil-Shimano
41 Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) P3Transfer - Batavus
42 René Mandri (Est) AG2R La Mondiale
43 Sven Nevens (Bel) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
44 Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
45 Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner             0.25
46 Renaud Dion (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
47 Stéphane Poulhies (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
48 Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Quick Step
49 Nicolas Rousseau (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
50 Jarno Van Mingeroet (Bel) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
51 Geert Steurs (Bel) Silence - Lotto                                  1.02
52 Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
53 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Mitsubishi-Jartazi                            1.30
54 Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil-Shimano
55 Ivor Bruin (Ned) Van Vliet - EBH Elshof
56 Wim Botman (Ned) P3Transfer - Batavus

Past winners

2007 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Quick.Step - Innergetic
2006 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Team Lamonta
2005 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim
2004 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Lotto-Domo
2003 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis-Le Crédit par Téléphone
2002 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Lotto-Adecco
2001 Martin Hvastija (Slo) Alessio
2000 Gianpaolo Mondini (Ita)
1999 Geert Omloop (Bel)
1998 Geert Vanderaerden (Bel)
1997 Franky Van Haesebroucke (Bel)
1996 Rudy Verdonck (Bel)
1995 Wilfried Nelissen (Bel)
1994 Nico Emonds (Bel)
1993 Niko Eeckhout (Bel)
1992 Ludo Giesberts (Bel)
1991 Danny Neskens (Bel)
1990 Adri Van der Poel (Ned)
1989 Jan Bogaert (Bel)
1982 Walter Schoonjans (Bel)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,