Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Bendigo Bank Twilight Criterium - NE

Bendigo, Victoria, Australia, November 23, 2008


Stars shine on rainy weekend

Daniel Braunsteins (Drapac Porsche) and Tom Southam (Budget Forklifts)
Photo ©: Veeral Patel
(Click for larger image)

The wet weather gave way to cold but clear conditions for the Bendigo Bank twilight criterium, staged in the heart of town in front of thousands of hardy and enthusiastic fans. A field of 105 riders, headed up by Baden Cooke and Matt Wilson, led all of Australia’s top professional teams including Drapac Porsche, Praties, Budget Forklifts and

A fast and furious race saw the Drapac Porsche rider Daniel Braunsteins and Budget Forklifts' British rider Tom Southam establish an early break and hold off the field. Matt Wilson set a storming pace to try and chase down the breakaway for team-mate for the race Baden Cooke to no avail. Braunsteins took the win from Southam with Cooke winning the bunch gallop 30 seconds back for third.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Veeral Patel


1 Daniel Braunsteins (Aus) Drapac Porsche Developement Program - Hawthorn Citizens Youth Club
2 Tom Southam (GBr)
3 Baden Cooke (Aus) Barloworld - Carnegie Caulfield CC
5 Casey Munro (Aus) Drapac Porsche Developement Program - Brunswick Cycling Club Inc
6 Shaun McCarthy (Aus) - Bendigo & District CC
7 Craig McCartney (Aus) Savings & Loans Cycling Team - Footscray Cycling Club Inc
8 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) - Chelsea & Peninsula C C
9 Robbie Williams (Aus) Drapac Porsche Developement Program - Nowra Velo Club
10 Kane Walker (Aus) - Warragul Cycling Club Inc
11 Robbie Hucker (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
12 Joseph Lewis (Aus) FRF Couriers - NSWIS - Kooragang Open CC
13 Timothy Decker (Aus) St George CC
14 Kristian House (GBr) Rapha Condor -
15 Cameron Jennings (Aus) Pezula Racing - Rockhampton Cycle Club
16 Nick Aitken (Aus) Leongatha Cycling Club Inc
17 Mark O'Brien (Aus) Drapac Porsche Developement Program - Horsham Cycling Club Inc
18 Danny Kah (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
19 Brett Tivers (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
20 Jeremy Hills (Aus) Hobart Wheelers
21 Jacob Sutherland (Aus) Brunswick Cycling Club Inc
22 Andrew Ward (Aus) Northcote Cycling Club Inc
23 Damien Semmler (Aus) Shepparton Cycling Club Inc
24 Chris Allemand (Aus) Shepparton Cycling Club Inc
25 Peter Smith (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
26 Luke Knox (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
27 Matt Wilson (Aus)  Chelsea & Peninsula CC
DNS Paul Richards (Aus) Latrobe City CC
DNS Pip Grinter (Aus) Drapac Porsche Developement Program - Bendigo & District CC
DNF Christopher James d'Amelio (Aus) Cyclingnews-Jako - Bairnsdale & Riviera CC
DNF Raymond Turner (Aus) Southern Veterans
DNF Mitchell Docker (Aus) Drapac Porsche Developement Program - Brunswick Cycling Club Inc
DNF Jonothan Lovelock (Aus) Hawthorn Citizens Youth Club
DNF Sean Finning (Aus) Castlemaine Cycling Club
DNF James Langedyk (Aus) Geelong Cycle Club
DNF Patrick Shaw (Aus) Ballarat/Sebastopol CC
DNF Trevor Griffiths (Aus) Shepparton Cycling Xlub
DNF Bradley Norton (Aus) Praties - Shepparton Cycling Club Inc
DNF Jason Rigg (Aus) Northern Districts WA
DNF Tim Walker (Aus) Praties - West Tamar CC
DNF Joshua Wilson (Aus) Launceston City CC
DNF William Clarke (Aus) Northern Districts CC
DNF Peter Ladd (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Abram Manion (Aus) West Tamar CC
DNF Kyle Marwood (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Adrian Hanson (Aus) City of Burnie CC
DNF Joshua Tepper (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Daniel Mcintyre (Aus) Albury-Wodonga CC
DNF David Maltby (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Andrew Stalder (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Peter Johnstone (Aus) Chelsea & Peninsula C C
DNF Patrick Lane (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Stuart Smith (Aus) Leongatha Cycling Club Inc
DNF Troy Clarke (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Daniel Moore (Aus) St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
DNF Tom Leaper (Aus) Blackburn Cycling Club Inc
DNF Matthew Davis (Aus) Blackburn Cycling Club Inc
DNF Andrew Rolland (Aus) Blackburn Cycling Club Inc
DNF Daniel Nelms (Aus) Italo Australian C C
DNF Will Tehan (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Benjamin Juzwin (Aus) St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
DNF Benjamin Hegerty (Aus) St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
DNF Luke Mackenzie (Aus) St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
DNF Sam Bach (Aus) MTBA
DNF Paul Mason (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Brendan Rowbotham (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Tim Retchford (Aus) MTBA
DNF James Maebus (Aus) MTBA
DNF Luke Fetch (Aus) Mornington Cycling Club
DNF Paul Weymouth (Aus) Mornington Cycling Club
DNF Cal Britten (Aus) Alpine Cycling Club
DNF David Pell (Aus) Savings & Loans Cycling Team - Bendigo & District CC
DNF Mark Flood (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Ashley Harding (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Justin Leske (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF David Mannix (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Simon Bennett (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Todd Schintler (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Justin Kennedy (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Jarrod Moroni (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Nicholas Moroni (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Cameron Cecil (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF David Tozer (Aus) Port Fairy Cycling Club Inc
DNF Joel Fahy (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Joshua Gundry (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Timothy Joiner (Aus) Brunswick Cycling Club Inc
DNF Taigh Banson (Aus) Blackburn Cycling Club Inc
DNF Cameron Streistermanis (Aus) Footscray Cycling Club Inc
DNF Brad Edmunds (Aus) Savings & Loans Cycling Team - Echuca/Moama Cycling Club
DNF Chris Steffanoni (Aus) Sunbury & Hume CC
DNF Trent Goatley (Aus) Northcote Cycling Club Inc
DNF Nathan Oman (Aus) Echuca/Moama Cycling Club
DNF Peter Aquilina (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Paul Carnibella (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF John Cornish (Aus) St Kilda Cycling Club Inc
DNF Paul Reed (Aus) Footscray Cycling Club Inc
DNF Matthew Sherwin (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF Dean Guidolin (Aus) Carnegie Caulfield CC
DNF David Fairburn (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Damien Cranage (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Josef Stoltz (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Brenton Slotegraaf (Aus) Bendigo & District CC
DNF Anthony Fitzpatrick (Aus) Alice Springs Cycling Club
DNF Calum Middleton (Aus) Colac Cycling Club Inc
DNF Zakkari Dempster (Aus) - AIS - Bendigo & District CC
DNF Johnny Walker (Aus) - AIS - Brunswick Cycling Club Inc