Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

1st GP Cittā di Cornaredo - 1.2

Italy, March 9, 2008

2007 Results    Results    Past winners

Graus claims first Cornaredo

Austria's Andrea Graus (Bigla Cycling Team)
Photo ©: Fabrizio Delmati
(Click for larger image)

Austrian cyclist Andrea Graus (Bigla Cycling Team) took a narrow victory at the inaugural GP Città di Cornaredo in Italy. The Bigla rider outsprinted Russia's Julia Martisova (Gauss RDZ Ormu) and German Christina Becker (Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung) from an eight-person breakaway.

An early break away by Oki Miko (Selle Menikini Italy Masters Color), Elodie Touffet (Gauss Rdz Ormu) and Noemi Cantele (Bigla) pulled out a 20 second margin over the peloton. However with a rider as strong as Cantele in the bunch, the peloton soon reabsorbed the trio's threat.

The race was then dominated by eight women, who stayed away for the 117 kilometre event's duration, with the group including Clemilda Fernandes Silva (USC Chirio Forno d'Asolo), Kori Kelley Seehafer (Menikini - Selle Italia), Anna Farina (Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line), Monika Schachl (Team Uniqa) and Catrine Josefsson (Bizkaia - Durango).

The group held a lead of 1'48 for the majority of the race, before pulled out a further seven seconds over the main bunch as it sped towards the finish line. Despite falling off the group's rear to finish eight seconds behind, Josefsson took eighth place and was the first Under 23 rider across the finish line.

Organisers were delighted with the result of the Italian race's maiden running. "Despite the rain we are happy," said organiser Walter Ricci Petitoni. "There were a lot of people and Cornaredo was a beautiful party.

"Mayor Pompilio Crivellone has already confirmed that there will be a second edition of the race and we are ready to organise it," he concluded.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fabrizio Delmati

Images by Davide Tricarico/

Results - 117 km

1 Andrea Graus (Aut) Bigla Cycling Team                       3.04.32 (38.041 km/h)
2 Julia Martisova (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu
3 Christina Becker (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
4 Clemilda Fernandes Silva (Bra) USC Chirio Forno d'Asolo
5 Kori Kelley Seehafer (USA) Menikini - Selle Italia
6 Anna Farina (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line
7 Monika Schachl (Aut) Team Uniqa
8 Catrine Josefsson (Swe) Bizkaia - Durango                       0.08
9 Miho Oki (Jpn) Menikini - Selle Italia                          1.55
10 Agne Vagbanoviciute (Ltu)
11 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Menikini - Selle Italia

Past winners