Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Dutch Championships - CN

The Netherlands, June 28-29, 2008

National Champs summary    2007 results     Stage List     Preview    Past winners

The Stages

Classic course for the Dutch

By Paul Verkuylen

The course for the Dutch National championships can be best described as classic. Taking place in the municipality of Dinkelland the 12.9km course features five climbs, the highest of which is just 69.9 meters high.

There is a total of 5.2 kilometers and 99 meters of gain each lap, coupled with just 460 meters of flat roads and 400 meters of cobbles. This course will definitely suit the classic style riders and those heading into the Tour with form.

Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) will be looking to improve on his consecutive second places from the previous two years, while new Rabobank signing, Bram Tankink will also be one to watch as he puts the finishing touches on his Tour preparations.

Thomas Dekker (Rabobank) will also be a tough competitor on this circuit and if he has recovered from his illness like he says, he will be looking to avenge his non-selection for the Tour. The 6% gradient of the finishing straight will also suit his strengths should it come down to a small group sprint.

With 17 riders from their ProTour team and a further six from their continental team, Rabobank will be tough to beat, but they should face some strong competition from the five other Dutch bases squads.

Rabobank will also be keeping a eye on Paris Roubaix sensation Martijn Maaskant (Garmin - Slipstream). He was part of their continental team last year and they won't like it if he takes their National Jersey away too.

Expect a fast and exciting race, with a worthy winner.

Past winners

2007 Koos Moerenhout
2006 Michael Boogerd                           
2005 Léon van Bon                              
2004 Erik Dekker                               
2003 Rudi Kemna                                
2002 Stefan van Dijk                           
2001 Jans Koerts                               
2000 Léon van Bon                              
1999 Maarten den Bakker                        
1998 Michael Boogerd                           
1997 Michael Boogerd                           
1996 Maarten den Bakker                        
1995 Servais Knaven                            
1994 Steven Rooks                              
1993 Erik Breukink                             
1992 Tristan Hoffman                           
1991 Steven Rooks                              
1990 Peter Winnen                              
1989 Frans Maassen                             
1988 Peter Pieters                             
1987 Adri van der Poel                         
1986 Jos Lammertink                            
1985 Jacques Hanegraaf                         
1984 Jan Raas                                  
1983 Jan Raas                                  
1982 Johan van der Velde                       
1981 Jacques Hanegraaf                         
1980 Johan van der Velde                       
1979 Henk Lubberding                           
1978 Henk Lubberding                           
1977 Fedor den Hertog                          
1976 Jan Raas                                  
1975 Hennie Kuiper                             
1974 Cees Priem                                
1973 Joop Zoetemelk                            
1972 Tino Tabak                                
1971 Joop Zoetemelk                            
1970 Peter Kisner                              
1969 Jan Frijters                              
1968 Evert Dolman                              
1967 Evert Dolman (disqualified for doping)    
1966 Gerben Karstens                           
1965 Jo de Roo                                 
1964 Jo de Roo                                 
1963 Peter Post                                
1962 Ab Geldermans                             
1961 Bas Maliepaard                            
1960 Bas Maliepaard                            
1959 Piet Damen                                
1958 Jef Lahaye                                
1957 Wim van Est                               
1956 Wim van Est                               
1955 Thijs Roks                                
1954 Adri Voorting                             
1953 Gerrit Schulte                            
1952 Hans Dekkers                              
1951 Hans Dekkers                              
1950 Gerrit Schulte                            
1949 Sjef Janssen                              
1948 Gerrit Schulte                            
1947 Sjef Janssen                              
1946 Bouk Schellingerhoudt                     
1945 Theo Middelkamp                           
1944 Gerrit Schulte                            
1943 Theo Middelkamp                           
1942 John Braspenninckx                        
1941 Louis Motke                               
1940 Louis Motke                               
1939 Janus Hellemons                           
1938 Theo Middelkamp                           
1937 Adrianus Braspenninckx                    
1936 Kees Pellenaars                           
1935 Marinus Valentijn                         
1934 Cesar Bogaert                             
1933 Thijs van Oers                            
1932 Marinus Valentijn                         
1931 Cesar Bogaert                             
1930 Adrianus Braspenninckx                    
1929 Hans Bockom                               
1928 Hans Bockom                               
1927 Joop Franssen                             
1926 Klaas van Nek                          
1925 Jorinus van der Wiel                      
1924 Piet Ikelaar                              
1923 Piet Ikelaar                              
1922 Herman Nankman                            
1921 Jorinus van der Wiel                      
1920 Frits Wiersma                             
1919 Frits Wiersma                             
1918 Jorinus van der Wiel                      
1917 Jorinus van der Wiel                      
1916 Klaas van Nek                             
1915 Jorinus van der Wiel                      
1914 Chris Kalkman                         
1913 Frits Wiersma                             
1912 Cees Erkelens                             
1911 Krijn Schippers                           
1910 H.D. Tamse                                
1909 Chris Kalkman                             
1908 Adrie Slot                                
1907 Jan Tulleken                              
1906 Gerrit van Vliet                          
1904 Jan de Groot                              
1896 Willem van der Mey                        
1895 Willem van der Mey                        
1894 Jaap Eden                                 
1893 Jaap Eden                                 
1892 Henk van de Griendt                       
1891 Carel A. Koning                           
1890 Henri L. Raland                           
1889 W.G. del Baere                            
1888 H.W. van Raden                            
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,