Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

4th Na Tour Broker Criterium - NE

Diksmuide, Belgium, July 29, 2008

2007 Results    Results    Past winners

Freire ahead of Steegmans

Green-man Oscar Freire (Rabobank)
Photo ©: Stijn Vercaemer
(Click for larger image)

Oscar Freire (Rabobank) was the fastest sprinter at Tuesday evening's post-Tour criterium in Diksmuide, Belgium. The Spaniard, who claimed the Tour's green jersey this month, won the race ahead of Gert Steegmans (Quick Step), while the Tour's mountain classification winner Bernard Kohl (Gerolsteiner) placed third.

Freire and Steegmans broke away from the peloton four kilometres from the finish, and contested the sprint between themselves. Kohl tried to bridge across to the two leaders but was unable to ride across the gap. He finished just 50 meters behind the pair.

At the finish the green jersey winner from the Tour was too fast for the winner of the final stage into Paris.

"I was beaten [by a] small man," Steegmans said, who replaced Cadel Evans (Silence Lotto) in the event's lineup after the Australian failed to show up at the criterium (see separate story). "Freire went through the last corner better than me, and because of that I timed my run too late."

"The sprint was difficult, but worked out perfectly for me," Freire said.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Stijn Vercaemer/


1 Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank
2 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Quick Step
3 Bernard Kohl (Aut) Gerolsteiner
4 Erik Zabel (Ger) Milram

Past winners

2007 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Discovery Channel
2006 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic
2005 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quickstep