Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Tour de San Luis - 2.2

Argentina, January 22-27, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage   Next Stage

Stage 4 - January 26: San Luis - Mirador El Potrero, 157.1km

Queen stage to Ochoa; Garrido almost home and dry

By Hernan Alvarez

Venezuela's Carlos Ochoa (Team Diquigiovanni) has won the rain soaked queen stage of Tour de San Luis, a punishing 157.1 km route with four categorised climbs capped off by the 1210 metre ascent to Mirador El Potrero. Six seconds behind the winner were Spaniard Beñat Intxausti (Saunier Duval) and Ochoa's Colombian team-mate Jose Serpa.

"We did what the team manager said," explained Ochoa of Team Diquigiovanni's one-two punch on the final climb. "We waited until the last part and we attacked there. This is my first win as a professional and I am glad it was in the best race in South America."

Race leader Martin Garrido maintained his healthy lead of more than a minute in the overall standings, and barring disaster should wrap up the race victory in tomorrow's relatively straightforward final stage.

"The key days were stage three and today's stage," said Garrido. "Tomorrow the race will be more relaxed in the route but not in the competition. I must thank my team that did a great work once again. I haven't won yet. We still have to cross the finish line."

Starting and finishing in San Luis city, the final stage is a 144.5 km route around La Florida reservoir. There are two category three climbs at km 50 and 70, but a flat finale should give Garrido plenty of time to celebrate.


1 Carlos Ochoa (Ven) Team Diquigiovanni            3.50.25
2 Beņat Intxausti (Spa) Saunier Duval                 0.06
3 Jose Serpa (Col) Team Diquigiovanni                     
4 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC                        0.17
5 Jackoson Rodriguez (Ven) Team Diquigiovanni         0.23
General classification after stage 4
1 Martin Garrido (Arg) Palmeiras Resort-Tavira    11.54.18
2 Gerardo Fernandez (Arg) San Luis                    1.06
3 Jorge A. Giacinti (Arg) Scott/Marcondes             1.09
4 Jose Serpa (Col) Team Diquigiovanni                 1.10
5 Magno Prado (Bra) Scott/Marcondes                   1.11