Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Intaka Tech World's View Challenge - 1.1

South Africa, February 2-7, 2008

Main Page    Results     Next Race

Race 1 - February 2: Richmond - Camperdown, 111.6 km

Quinziato wins opener

By Sophie Thompson

Italian Manuel Quinziato (Team Liquigas) took top honors at the end of the first day of the Intaka Tech World View Challenge, which started in Pietermaritzburg on Saturday. Team Milram's Andriy Grivko finished second and South African Nic White (Team MTN) ended up third.

An undulating route, a constantly segmenting peloton and vigorous sprints marked the first day of racing over 111km in and around Pietermaritzburg. The route took cyclists through Camperdown, Richmond and Ashburton - starting and ending in Alexandra Park in temperatures peaking at 44 degrees.

More than 100 pro riders represented 11 teams. After the pros, veterans, women and recreational categories also got a chance to compete.

In one of the day's big surprises, Intaka Tech SA Development rider Michael Robinson won the overall points division in the sprint competition.

Jaco Venter (Team Neotel) conquered Fox Hill with ease. He won the first King of the Mountain points. Later Travis Allan (Konica Minolta) collected some more over Richmond Hill after 34km. Allan was also crowned overall King of the Mountain for the day.

The race consisted of a number of break-away groups with the main peloton leading the way. With 20km to go, 12 riders led the main break towards the finish. Quinziato won the race comfortably with a 100m lead.

"The race has started off on a great note - we are promised an exciting and challenging time ahead. After today the routes become more steep and climbs become more challenging. Days three to five will be particularly challenging to the riders," said Race Director Denzil Ulyate, who was also pleased with the number of spectators along the route in Martizburg.

Tomorrow's route goes through the streets of Pietermaritzburg and into Polyshorts for two laps before returning.


1 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Team Liquigas                                          2.46.21 (40.25 km7h)
2 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Team Milram                                                  0.07
3 Nicholas White (RSA) MTN Cycling Team
4 Hugo Sabido (Por) Team Barloworld                                                0.31
5 Claudio Corioni (Ita) Team Liquigas                                              1.35
6 Jamie Ball (RSA) House Of Paint
7 Jay Thomson (RSA) MTN Cycling Team
8 David O’Loughlin (Irl) Pezula Racing
9 Daryl Impey (RSA) Team Barloworld
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Team Liquigas                                             1.39
11 Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Team Neotel                                    1.43
12 Michael Robinson (RSA) Intaka Tech - South African Developement Team            4.19
13 Michael Sowerby (RSA) South Africa National Team                                5.45
14 Pablo Wilches (Col) Konica Minolta                                              6.02
15 Ian Mcleod (RSA) MTN Cycling Team                                               9.14
16 Artur Gajek (Ger) Team Milram                                                   9.44
17 Juan Van Heerden (RSA) MTN Cycling Team
18 Ahmed A Tunsi Fatmi (Lba) Libyan National Team                                  9.49
19 Travis Allen (RSA) Konica Minolta
20 Hichem Chabane (Alg) Konica Minolta                                            11.56
21 Norberto Wilches (Col) Konica Minolta                                          17.54
22 Christopher Froome (Ken) Team Barloworld
23 Michael Pepper (RSA) South Africa National Team
24 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) Team Barloworld
25 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Team Barloworld
26 Diego Caccia (Ita) Team Barloworld
27 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Intaka Tech - South African Developement Team
28 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram
29 Malcolm Lange (RSA) MTN Cycling Teama
30 David George (RSA) MTN Cycling Team
31 Hanco Kackelhoffer (RSA) House Of Paint
32 Christoff Van Heerden (RSA) Konica Minolt
33 James Perry (RSA) Team Neotel
34 Herman Fouche (RSA) Konica Minolta
35 Johann Rabie (RSA) Team Neotel
36 Jaco Venter (RSA) Team Neotel
37 Pieter Seyffert (RSA) Konica Minolta
38 Luthando Kaka (RSA) South Africa National Tea
39 Marco Velo (Ita) Team Milram
40 Peter Velits (Svk) Team Milram
41 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Team Liquigas
42 Björn Schroder (Ger) Team Milram
43 Christian Pfannberger (Aut) Team Barloworld
44 Martin Irvine (Irl) Pezula Racing
45 Ciaran Power (Irl) Pezula Racing
46 Waylon Woolcock (RSA) MTN Cycling Team
47 Nolan Hoffmann (RSA) Team Neotel
48 Dennis Van Niekerk (RSA) Konica Minolta
49 Nyandwi Uwase (Rwa) Team Rwanda                                                25.02
50 Nathan Byukusenge (Rwa) Team Rwanda
51 Jean De Dieu Uwimana Rafiki (Rwa) Team Rwanda
52 Phetetso Monese (Les) Lesotho National Team
53 Tumisang Thaabe (Les) Lesotho National Team
54 Shaban Aesharaa Faysal (Lba) Libyan National Team
55 Youssef Belgasem Ahmed (Lba) Libyan National Team
56 Verdi Farao (RSA) Intaka Tech - South African Developement Team
57 Mathew Funnel (RSA) House Of Paint
58 Adam Petrie-Armstrong (Irl) Pezula Racing
59 Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Team Rwanda
60 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Liquigas
61 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Milram
62 Elmendi Abdunnaser (Lba) Libyan National Team Cycling
63 Michael Van Staaden (RSA) Intaka Tech - South African Developement Team
64 Kieran Page (GBr) Pezula Racing
65 Sebastian Schwager (Ger) Team Milram
66 Derek Burke (Irl) Pezula Racing
67 Roman Kreuzinger (Cze) Team Liquigas
68 Prince Maluleke (RSA) Team Neotel
69 Robert Hunter (RSA) Team Barloworld
70 Morgan Fox (Irl) Pezula Racing
71 Lawrence Mashlango (RSA) Intaka Tech - South African Developement Team
72 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Team Liquigas
73 Neil McDonald (RSA) MTN Cycling Team
74 Ryan Connor (Irl) Pezula Racing
75 Jeremy Maertens (RSA) Team Neotel
76 Adrian Maaske (RSA) South Africa National Team
77 Richard Baxter (RSA) House Of Paint
78 Ahadi Somewir Ali (Lba) Libyan National Team
79 Petrus Loto (Nam) Team Neotel
80 Jason Bakkie (RSA) House Of Paint
81 Gadi Chait (RSA) South Africa National Team
82 Arron Brown (RSA) House Of Paint
83 Dean Edwards (RSA) South Africa National Team
84 Garth Thomas (RSA) South Africa National Team
85 Hoh Ali Ahmed (Lba) Libyan National Team Cycling
86 Stanley Namanayna (RSA) Intaka Tech - South African Developement Team          30.14
87 Thuso Makatise (Les) Lesotho National Team                                     35.31
88 Poloko Makara (Les) Lesotho National Team                                      38.28
89 Makhashe Ramolungoa (Les) Lesotho National Team
90 Obed Ruvogera (Rwa) Team Rwanda                                                41.44

King Of The Mountain

1 Travis Allen (Team Konica Minolta)
2 Jaco Venter (Team Neotel)
3 Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (Team Neotel)


1 Marissa Van Der Merwe (Team Mtn)
2 Lynette Burger
3 Cherisa Taylor
4 Chrissie Viljoen
5 Cashandra Slingerland

1 Jock Green
2 Andrew Maclean
3 Jaco Fourie
4 Donovan Van Gelder
5 David Garret