Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Rochester Omnium - 2.2

New York, USA, August 8-10, 2008

2007 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - August 8: Time trial, 4.08 mi
  • Stage 2 - August 9: Rochester Twilight Criterium, 120 min
  • Stage 3 - August 10: Rochester Road Race, 101 mi

Challenging three stages draw top-notch field to Rochester

By Kirsten Robbins in Rochester, NY

What was once a one-day criterium is now a three day, UCI stage race held in Rochester, New York from August 8-10. The criterium is now sandwiched between a short time trial and a lengthy road race attracting some of the top all round riders in the country.

The previous year's high-speed criterium drew in a mostly sprinter field including two-time event winner from Toyota-United Hilton Clarke, then racing for Navigators and CSC sprinter Juan Jose Haedo, then racing for Colavita-Sutter Home.

While many fast sprinters have returned, the event's UCI status and the inclusion of a time trial and a hilly road race, means teams have brought full squads to support their GC riders.

The top notch all-rounders for this year's line up include Dominique Rollin (Toyota-United), Tony Cruz (BMC), Luis Amaran (Colavita/Sutter Home), Yosvany Falcon (Toshiba), David Veilleux (Kelly Benefit Strategies-Medifast), Bill Elliston (Rite Aid), Mark Walters (Team Race Pro) and Valeriy Kobzarenko (Team Type 1) amongst others.

UCI points are available to the top three in each stage and to the top 8 in the final GC. However, instead time accumulation, omnium points will determine the overall champion. Race points will go to the top twenty riders in each stage. There will also be separate points up for grabs to the top three in the KOM and sprint competitions.

The kick off: The individual time trial is a very flat 6.4-kilometres, out-and-back course that starts and ends at the Port of Rochester. This "race of truth" will take the riders over a rolling 3.2-kilometres stretch with a descent heading into the turn around. To add to the already taxing effort, riders will have to climb out of the turnaround heading back to the finish line.

August 9 – stage two: The popular Rochester Twilight Criterium will takes place on the city's downtown streets. The short circuit attracts thousands of fans out to watch the showcased event where sprint points and money primes will drive the fast pace. The circuit includes eight corners and a chicane followed by a slight rise to the finish line.

August 10 – stage three: The newly added road race takes place on a 161-kilometres course that weaves through the Finger Lakes region. During the first 144-kilometres, the pro men's field will conquer the challenging hills through north/western New York State. The riders will contend for points over two KOM climbs. They must then complete two, 10-kilometres finishing circuits where the overall champion will emerge.

Start list

Toyota United                         Successful Living Pro Cycling Team
1 Hilton Clarke (Aus)                  7 Charles Coyle (USA)
2 Jonathan Clarke (Aus)                8 Michael Grabinger (USA)
3 Ivan Dominguez (Cub)                 10 Ricardo Escuela (Arg)
4 Dominique Rollin (Can)               11 Alessandro Bazzana (Ita)
5 Sean Sullivan (Aus)                  12 Charles Dionne (Can)
6 Henk Vogels (Aus)                    
Toshiba – Santo Pro Cycling            Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast
13 Yosvany Falcon (Cub)                20 Kevin Lacombe (Can)
14 Frank Travieso (Cub)                21 David Veilleux (Can)
15 Daniel Vaillancourt (USA)           22 Brian Buchholz (USA)
16 Mark Hekman (USA)                   24 Clay Murfert (Aus)
Calyon Pro Cycling Team                Jet Fuel Coffee
25 Michael Norton (USA)                31 Peter Morse (Can)
26 Mathieu Roy (Can)                   32 Kevin Hazzard (Can)
28 Matthew Bell (Can)                  33 Bryson Bowers (Can)
29 Charlie Vives (Can)                 34 Derrick St-John (Can)
30 Maxime Vives (Can)                  35 David Byer (Can)
                                       36 Daniele Defranceschi (Can)
Team Rite Aid Pro Cycling              Empire
43 Richard Geng (Ger)                  49 Sheldon Deeny (USA)
44 William Elliston (USA)              50 Mike Mathis (USA)
45 Jacob Rytlewski (USA)               51 Eric Brownell (USA)
46 Robbie King (USA)                   52 Alexander Brimer (USA)
47 Jonathan Erdelye (USA)              53 Mike Margarite (USA)
48 Guido Palma (Arg)                   54 Matthew Johnson (USA)
Team R.A.C.E. Pro                      Team Type 1

61 Mark Walters (Can)                  67 Emile Abraham (Tri)
62 Mark Pozniak (Can)                  69 Matt Wilson (Aus)
63 Francois Parisien (Can)             70 Joe Eldridge (USA)
64 Ryan Roth (Can)                     71 Valeriy Kobzarenko (Ukr)
65 Dan Timmerman (USA)                 72 Shawn Milne (USA)
66 Adam Thuss (Can)              
BMC Racing                             Colavita Sutter Home Presented By Cooking Light
73 Danilo Wyss (Swi)                   79 Kyle Wamsley (USA)
74 Martin Kohler (Swi)                 80 Luca Damiani (USA)
75 Jackson Stewart (USA)               81 Lucas Haedo (Arg)
76 Michael Sayers (USA)                82 Gustavo Artacho (Arg)
77  Antonio  Cruz (USA)                83 Luis Amaran Romero (Cub)
78 Nathan Miller (USA)                 84 Davide Frattini (Ita)
DLP Racing                             Preferred Care Cycling
85 Boyd Johnson (USA)                  91 Jake Castor (USA)
86 Owen Nielsen (USA)                  92 Matt Dickenson (USA)
87 Joseph Coddington (USA)             93 Jeff Zygo (USA)
88 Chris Judy (USA)                    94 Ryan Nye (USA)
89 Torsten Wambold (Ger)               
90 Tommy Nankervis (Aus)               
Handlebars Cycle Company               Sommerville Sports
97 Jason Skalski (USA)                 103 David Sommerville (USA)
98 Nathan Chown (Can)                  104 Sal Scotto (USA)
99 Justin Hines (Can)                  105 Rob Wing (USA)
100 Michael Luther (USA)               106 Tom Bencivengo (USA)
101 Chris Saunders (Can)               107 Tom Dolan (USA)
Ciclo Werks                            Mazur Coaching
109 Jonathan Prosser (Can)             121 Alex Bhogal (Ger)
111 Nathan Schnarr (Can)               122 Derrek Ivey (Can)
112 Erik Box (Can)                     123 Gan Zak (Can)
113 Charles Bryer (Can)                124 Brandon Throop (Can)

Past winners

Criterium only
2007 Hilton Clarke (Navigators Insurance)         Jesse Maclean (Verducci / Breakaway Racing)
2006 Hilton Clarke (Navigators Insurance)         Sarah Uhl (Penn State)
2005 Burke Swindlehurst (Team Seasilver)          Barbara Howe (Velo Bella)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,