Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Ringerike GP - 2.2

Norway, May 30-June 3, 2007

2006 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - May 30: Beitostølen - Beitostølen, 157.2 km
  • Stage 2 - May 31: Fagernes - Steinsåsen, 185.5 km
  • Stage 3 - June 1: Hønefoss – Kleivstua, 148.2 km
  • Stage 4 - June 2: Hønefoss - Hønefoss, 160.6 km
  • Stage 5 - June 3: Hønefoss – Stangsgate-Norderhovsgate, 160.6 km

Bianchi sends strong team to defend title

By Paul Verkuylen

Norway's Largest UCI ranked event, the five day Ringerike Grand Prix, commences in Beitostølen on Wednesday, May 30. The event's traditional home of Honefoss, to the North West of the nation's capital Oslo, does not feature in this year's running until the third stage.

The tour makes its way through some mountainous terrain that features in this beautiful part of Norway.

Defending champion, and Honefoss home town hero, Gabriel Rasch (Team Maxbo Binachi), returns this year to try his luck at taking another victory. The Norwegian's home club, Ringerike CK, has been organizing the event under various names and formats since 1979.

Rasch won the Norwegian national championship on a course designed for Thor Hushovd in 2003, in the Crédit Agricole rider's home town of Grimstad. Supporting Rasch is a strong team that includes Edvald Boasson Hagen, who has recently signed for T-Mobile.

Hagen will be looking to repay his squad for its dedication after the outfit helped him to three stage wins at last year's Tour de 'Avenir. The Norwegian has a strong track record at the Ringrike GP, having won the tough Stage 3 to Kleivstua last year.

The tour's finale is always an exiting affair. The stage from Hønefoss-Stangsgate-Norderhovsgate has a race defining reputation and will likely be where the event is won or lost. The 160.6 kilometre stage features 10 ascents of the super-steep Ripperbakken, a climb that features in the finishing circuit in and around Honefoss. As always, thousands of cheering fans will be out in force at the traditional finish, willing their favourite riders over the line.

Start list

Team Maxbo Bianchi               Team

1 Gabriel Rasch (Nor)            11 Petter Renäng (Swe)
2 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor)     12 Robert Österling (Swe)
3 Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor)     13 Johan Landström (Swe)
4 Fredrik Willman (Nor)          14 Kalle Sandell (Swe)
5 Stian Sommerseth (Nor)         15 Jan Gunnars (Swe)
6 Joachim Bøhler (Nor)           16 Viktor Renäng (Swe)

Team               Team MA Speedwear-Drylane

21 Mattias Lundquist (Swe)       31 Henrik Åbom (Swe)
22 Henrik Nordström (Swe)        32 Mattias Carlzon (Swe)
23 Erik Jannesson (Swe)          33 Petter Lundblad (Swe)
24 Martin Erlandsson (Swe)       34 Sead Mujacevic (Swe)
25 Gunnar Grönland (Swe)         35 Mikael Lehtomaa (Swe)
26 Krister Persson (Swe)         36 Ludvig Lundberg (Swe)

Team Herning Elite               Team Vision Bikes

41 Goytan Lilholt (Den)          51 Jakob Kollerup (Den)
42 Kasper Malmkjær (Den)         52 Simon Lerbech Jensen (Den)
43 Flemming Rasmussen (Den)      53 Mads Bugge (Den)
44 Michael Larsen S. (Den)       54 Thomas Japp Hansen (Den)
45 Brian Bayer (Den)             55 Benjamin Justensen (Den)
46 Michael Christensen (Den)     56 Michael Ellermann Jæger (Den)

Glud og Marstrand Horsens        Team GLS

61 Kaspar Schønnemann (Den)      71 Niki Østegaard (Den)
62 Michael Berling  (Den)        72 Thomas Oredsson (Den)
63 Rune Udby (Den)               73 Michael Mørkøv (Den)
64 Lasse Bøchman (Den)           74 Peter Riis Andersen (Den)
65 Andrè Steensen (Den)          75 Jonas Aaen Jørgensen (Den)
66 Nikolaj Olsen (Den)           76 Janif Hecht (Den)

Team Designa Køkken              Van Vliet-EBH Advocaten

81 Daniel Froder (Den)           91 Thijs van Amerongen (Ned)
82 Andreas Frisch (Den)          92 Niek Basten (Ned)
83 Jakob Fuglsang (Den)          93 Dirk Beliemakers (Ned)
84 Jens-Erik Madsen (Den)        94 Bram Schimtz (Ned)
85 Jesper Odgaard Nielsen (Den)  95 Rikke Dijkxhoorn (Ned)
                                 96 Joost V. Leijen (Ned)

Time Van Hemert                  Team Sparebanken Vest

101 Martin Vestby (Nor)          111 Morten Hegreberg (Nor)
102 Björn Hoeben (Ned)           112 Roy Hegreberg (Nor)
103 Slerk Jan de Haan (Ned)      113 Stian Remme (Nor)
104 Roy Curvers (Ned)            114 Tamas Lengyel (Hun)
105 Marcel Beima (Ned)           115 Christer Rake (Nor)
106 Fredrik Ericsson (Swe)       116 Håvard Nybø (Nor)

KF Team NOR                      KF Team Sør

121 Joakim Prestmo (Nor)         131 Jon Einar Bergsland (Nor)
122 Espen Skoglund (Nor)         132 Kenneth Solheim  (Nor)
123 Lars-Ove Thoresen (Nor)      133 Pål Bjørke (Nor)
124 Jørn-Henrik Thoresen (Nor)   134 Jørn Fjeldaville (Nor)
125 Lars Andersson (Swe)         135 Håkon Frahm Stokka (Nor)
126 Christoffer Berggren (Nor)   136 Hans Tore Andersen (Nor)

Bærum og Omegn CK                Indre Østland Cyklekrets

141 Andreas Sand (Nor)           151 Stian Lersveen (Nor)
142 Ole-Kristian Ringnes (Nor)   152 Arne Gunnar Ensrud (Nor)
143 Christer Myerschough (Swe)   153 Frode Jansen (Nor)
144 Trond Kristian Schweder (Nor)154 Marius Jevnesven (Nor)
145 Jarle Wermskog (Nor)         155 Lars Stensløkken (Nor)
146 Torgeir Folkestad (Nor)      156 Ole Petter Vibekken (Nor)

Lillehamer CK                    Eidsvoll SK - Regional

161 Atle Ekenberg (Nor)          171 Alf Roger Holme (Nor)
162 Tormod Haugstad (Nor)        172 Hans Fredrik Hellebergshaugen (Nor)
163 Morten Martinsen (Nor)       173 Tom Larsen (Nor)
164 Kristian Platou (Nor)        174 Gøran Syversen (Nor)
165 Joar Hansen (Nor)            175 Geir Lien (Nor)
166 Tobias Torgersen (Nor)       176 Marius Nyhammer (Nor)

SK Rye                           Nesset CK - Regional

181 Ole Jørgen Braaten (Nor)     192 Odmund Langset (Nor)
182 Askild Larsen (Nor)          193 Mikael Brunsvik (Nor)
183 Stig Løkken (Nor)            194 Ola Inge Drøpping (Nor)
184 Carl Erik Pedersen (Nor)     195 Roger Nasvik (Nor)
185 Stein Morten Storrø (Nor)    196 Magnus Espland (Nor)
186 Tore Haslemo (Nor)

Sandnes SK                       Fredrikstad SK - Regional

202 Bernt Inge Bakke (Nor)       211 Anders Iversby Hvideberg (Nor)
203 Magnus F. Bergseth (Nor)     212 Øystein Fundingsrud (Nor)
204 Kristian Fløysvik (Nor)      213 Even Thorstad (Nor)
205 Geir Inge Berg (Nor)         214 Emil Lindgren (Swe)
206 Torje Digernes (Nor)         215 Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe)
                                 216 Mohd Firdaus Daud (Mas)

Past winners

2006 Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Team Maxbo Bianchi
2005 Are Andresen (Nor) Team Sparebanken Vest
2004 Kimmo Kananen (Fin) Team Bianchi Nordic
2003 Jonas Holmkvist (Swe) Team Bianchi
2002 Mads Kaggestad (Nor) Team Krone
2001 Enrico Poitschke (Ger)
2000 Arkaiusz Wojtas (Pol)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,