Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Italian Championships - CN

Genova, Italy, June 26-July 1, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Day  

Day 6 - July 1: Elite men road race, 262 km

Visconti victorious

Giovanni Visconti of Quickstep won the Italian championships in a four-up sprint over Paolo Bossoni (Lampre) and Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner).

Those three, along with Cristian Murro (Tenax), formed an escape group that was able to stay away in the last lap. Murro was the one who lost his cool and guided the others to the finish while the peloton came dangerously close in the end.

It was Visconti then, who sprinted past the others while Bossoni hung on to second and Rebellin got third. Murro just made it into the finish before the field for fourth.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti


1 Giovanni Visconti (Quick Step - Innergetic)    6.57.15 (37.388km/h)
2 Paolo Bossoni (Lampre - Fondital)                     
3 Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner)                        
4 Cristian Murro (Tenax - Menikini)                    
5 Filippo Pozzato (Liquigas)                            
6 Daniele Bennati (Lampre - Fondital)                   
7 Christian Moreni (Cofidis Le Credit Par Telephone)    
8 Matteo Carrara (Unibet.Com)                           
9 Antonio D'Aniello (Ceramica Flaminia)                 
10 Raffaele Ferrara (Team LPR)                          
11 Daniele Pietropolli (Tenax - Menikini)               
12 Mirko Celestino (Milram)                             
13 Domenico Quagliarello (Ceramica Flaminia)            
14 Francesco Chicchi (Liquigas)                         
15 Alessandro Bertolini (Diquigiovanni Selle Italia)    
16 Enrico Rossi (OTC - Doors - Lauretana)               
17 Luca Solari (Team LPR)                               
18 Alberto Ongarato (Milram)                            
19 Paolo Longo Borghini (Barloworld)                    
20 Gabriele Bosisio (Tenax - Menikini)                  
21 Andrea Tonti (Quick Step - Innergetic)               
22 Marco Marcato (Team LPR)                             
23 Adriano Angeloni (Ceramica Flaminia)                 
24 Alessandro Ballan (Lampre - Fondital)                
25 Marco Osella (Kio - Ene - Tonazzo)