Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

2007 New Zealand National Road Championships - CN

Upper Hutt, NZ, January 11-13, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage  

Stage 5 - January 13: Elite/U23 men's road race, 156km

Dean and Haydock take titles

Mens Lap 1
Photo ©: Nigel Dalton
(Click for larger image)

Spanish based kiwi Julian Dean won the National Elite Men’s road race in Upper Hutt today, to take his first national road title on debut. The lead changed often in the strong elite field of 40 riders, with Jeremy Vennell and Under 23 rider Matt Sillars taking an early lead in the race.

Midway through the 156km circuit however, the favourites started to shine with various groups breaking away and regrouping on the challenging circuit, until a clear group of Julian Dean, Tim Gudsell, Pete Latham, Heath Blackgrove and Gordon McCauley broke away, finishing in that order. Time trial champion Glen Chadwick, riding for the Ramblers Club in Hastings but wearing his Navigators American pro team kit was always threatening, and finishing in fifth.

The Under 23 race was won by Matt Haydock, capping off a great championships for the Counties rider who also won the time trial on Thursday.

The races were held in perfect conditions. Mist was evident in the early part of the day at the top of the steep Blue Mountains but burnt off as the morning went on to produce hot, still conditions, perfect for road racing.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Nigel Dalton/R+R

Images by Craig Wadsworth


1 Julian Dean                                    3.49.23
2 Heath Blackgrove                                        
3 Gordon Mccauley                                   0.16
4 Tim Gudsell                                       0.30
5 Glen Chadwick                                     0.57
6 Matthew Haydock                                   4.33
7 Oliver Pearce                                        
8 Edwin Crossling                                         
9 Joseph Chapman                                        
10 Logan Hutchings                                        
11 Justin Kerr                                        
12 Peter Latham                                        
13 Karl Moore                                        
14 Scott Lyttle                                        
15 Michael Torckler                                 6.04
16 Scott Wilder                                     9.33
17 Brett Tivers                                        
18 Richard Speer                                   10.03
19 Ashley Whitehead                                        
20 David Rowlands                                        
21 Daniel Barry                                        
22 Edwin Barrett                                   10.08
23 Jeremy Vennell                                  10.20
24 Steve Stannard                                        
25 Ryan Wills                                      10.42
26 Joshua England                                  13.18
27 Christopher Macic                               14.50
28 Matthew Gorter                                  14.51
29 Alistair Crossling                              14.53
30 Mark Langlands                                  22.03
31 Geoff Gates                                        
32 Le  Poston                                        
33 Michael Northey                                        
34 Matthew Sillars                                 22.02
35 Shane O'neill                                   23.07
36 Brian Biggs                                     23.41
37 Darren Gordon                                   26.24
DNF Samuel Eadie                                        
DNF Will Alexander                                        
DNF Brad Carter                                        
DNF Clinton Avery                                        
DNF Sam King-Turner                                        
DNF Peter Rennie                                        
DNF Robert Brock                                        
DNF Rico Rogers                                        
DNF Jason Allen                                        
DNF Justin Ralph                                        
DNF Donald Oakly                                        
DNF Sam Horn                                        
DNF Jonathan Gee                                        
DNF Logan Hunn                                        
DNF Sam Horgan                                        
DNF Ross Stewart                                        
DNF Simon Brown                                        
DNF Joshua Brannigan                                        
DNF Daniel Waluszewski                                        
DNF Samuel Jennings                                        
DNF Christopher Sanson                                        
DNF Matthew Bell                                        
DNF Eliot Crowther                                        
DNF Joseph Cooper                                        
DNF Blair Cooper                                        
DNF Aaron Strong                                        
DNF Andrew Macfarlane                                        
DNF Brady Gibbons                                        
DNF Stephen Elden                                        
DNF Dean Fulton                                        
DNF Hayden Godfrey                                        
DNF Aaron Wheeler