Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

GP d'Ouverture La Marseillaise - 1.1

France, February 6, 2007

2006 Results    Results    Past winners repeats in Marseillaise

Jeremy Hunt (
Photo ©: Sirotti
(Click for larger image) won this traditional European race season opener for the second year in a row. Jeremy Hunt ( repeated last year's success of Baden Cooke, with Mikhail Ignatiev (Tinkoff Credit Systems) in second and Staf Scheirlinckx (Cofidis) in third. The 32-year-old Hunt took the final sprint at the end of the 126.7 km race between Gardanne and Luminy in southern France.

Unibet's win made a strong statement after their inclusion in the race was threatened earlier this week. Just before the race, organizers granted permission for Unibet to take the start, but only under the condition that the ProTour team not display the name of their lead sponsor. French law prohibits advertising of foreign lottery and betting institutions. Unibet accepted the decision and raced in neutral jerseys with large question marks replacing their sponsor's name. The team's lawyer said the advertising ban violated European law.

Belgian Staf Scheirlinckx (Cofidis) out-sprinted Glenn D'Hollander (Chocolade Jacques) for third.

T-Mobile reported that favourite Roger Hammond had an unfortunate debut in team colours. He came off on the last climb and was left behind by teammates. According to, director Allan Peiper said, "Roger is in good form and proved his credentials as a leading figure in the team. Of course he's annoyed about today's bad luck, but he'll put that behind him over the next days at the Star of Bessège where he'll show his young compatriot Mark Cavendish the way to the front of the peloton." Hammond finished ninth. Only 16 riders managed to finish within the time limit.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Images by Régis Garnier/


1 Jeremy Hunt (GBr)
2 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems                0.03
3 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Cofidis                              0.13
4 Glenn D'Hollander (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen
5 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned)
6 Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Crédit Agricole
7 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Crédit Agricole                         0.17
8 Sven Renders (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen
9 Roger Hammond (GBr) T-Mobile                                 0.21
10 Pieter Mertens (Bel) Predictor-Lotto                        0.24
11 Jan Kuyckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Tönissteiner               0.58
12 Stef Clement (Ned) Bouygues Telecom
13 Mathieu Drujon (Fra) Auber                                  1.38
14 Hubert Dupont (Fra) Ag2r Prévoyance                         1.39
15 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Ag2r Prévoyance                     3.57
16 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Cofidis
Classified: 16

Young riders classification

1 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems
2 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Crédit Agricole


Petit Galibier, 45 km

1 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems                6 pts
2 Jeremy Hunt (GBr)                                 4
3 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Cofidis                                2

Espigoulier, 79 km

1 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems                6 pts
2 Jeremy Hunt (GBr)                                 4
3 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Cofidis                                2

Mountains classification

1 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems               12 pts
2 Jeremy Hunt (GBr)                                 8
3 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Cofidis                                4

Past winners

2006 Baden Cooke (Aus)
2005 Nicki Sörensen (Den) Team CSC 2004 Baden Cooke (Aus)
2003 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 2002 Xavier Jan (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93 2001 Jakob Piil (Den) CSC World Online 2000 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra)