Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Tour of Thailand - 2.2

Thailand, December 16-21, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings     Next Stage

Stage 1 - December 16: Khao Yai National Park - Nakhon Ratchasima, 146.58 km

Selections made on first stage

By Steve Thomas in Thailand

The sun was out and the skies were blue for the first stage of this year’s Tour de Thailand. Starting from the Khao Yai National Park, to the west of Bangkok, the race will take six days to cover the 999 kilometres to the northern hill city of Chiang Mai, famous for it’s elephants and outdoor activities.

Some 81 riders lined up for the race; teams including Giant Asia, Iran, Japan, India, Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia lined up against several European and Asian Continental teams, with Iranian super climber Ahad Kazemi starting as overall favourite. The first stage started high in the park, with a 10-kilometre descent, which unfortunately wiped out three of the Indian team riders almost before the race had started. As soon as the flat lands were reached, the riders hit a nasty headwind which shredded the field to bits.

Coming into the finish two riders were just a few seconds clear of a twenty plus strong lead group, which contained most of the pre-race favourites. The sprint for the first stage win and the opening leaders jersey went to Thai national team rider Prajak Mahawong, while the second half of the field trailed in some five minutes later.

Stage two will see the race hit the first real hills, which should shake things up some, possibly in the favour of the strong-climbing Iranian team.  


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Steve Thomas


1 Prajak Mahawong (Tha) Thailand                    3.32.25 (41.40 km/h)
2 Irish Valenzuela (Phi) Philippines                       
3 Nguyen Hung Mai (Vie) Vietnam                        0.16
4 Badr Mohammed Banihammead (UAE) United Arab Emirates     
5 Shiri Sisan Hamid (IRI) Tabriz Petrochem                 
6 Suhardi Hassan (Mas) Malaysia                        0.18
7 Kuan Hua Lai (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing                     
8 Kohei Uchima (Jpn) Japan                                 
9 Muhammad Rauf Nur Nisbah (Mas) Malaysia                  
10 Jahanbanian Hossein (IRI) Tabriz Petrochem              
11 Tonton Susanto (Ina) Faeso Denmark                      
12 Akira Kakinuma (Jpn) Japan                              
13 Warren Davadilla (Phi) Philippines                      
14 Malaya van Ruitenbeek (Ned) Kuota Senges                
15 Okan Bualoi (Tha) Thailand                              
16 Ahad Sarai Kazemi (IRI) Tabriz Petrochem                
17 Maros Kovac (Svk) Dukla Trencin                         
18 Paul Griffin (Irl) Giant Asia Racing                    
19 Soren Peterson (Den) Kuota Senges                       
20 Jurag Sagan (Svk) Dukla Trencin                         
21 Jatuphoom Lekhawat (Tha) All Star Thailand              
22 Lloyd Lucien Reynante (Phi) Philippines                 
23 Phuchong Sai-Udomsin (Tha) Thailand                     
24 Thomas Just (Den) Faeso Denmark                     0.42
25 Hsiang Kuei (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing                 3.33
26 Jan Sipeky (Svk) Dukla Trencin                          
27 Masakazu Ito (Jpn) Japan                                
28 Partovi Mehdi (IRI) Tabriz Petrochem                    
29 Muhammad Zamri Saleh (Mas) Malaysia                     
30 Morten Knudsen (Den) Faeso Denmark                  8.07
31 Panup Koonrungruangkit (Tha) Thailand               8.27
32 Agung Alisyahbana (Ina) Customs Cycling                 
33 Ryan Ariham (Ina) Faeso Denmark                         
34 Omar Almansory (UAE) United Arab Emirates               
35 Ghafari Vahid (IRI) Tabriz Petrochem                    
36 Mitsuhiro Matsumura (Jpn) Matrix Powetag                
37 Yousif Banihammad (UAE) United Arab Emirates            
38 Thanawat Somna (Tha) All Star Thailand                  
39 Wim Spijkerboer (Ned) Ysselstreek                       
40 Muhammad Faris Abdul Razak (Mas) Malaysia               
41 Wakumoto Masaki (Jpn) Matrix Powetag                    
42 Endra Wijaya (Ina) Customs Cycling                      
43 Mohamed Almurawwi (UAE) United Arab Emirates            
44 Natthapon Jeebthaworn (Tha) Thailand                    
45 Edi Purnomo (Ina) Customs Cycling                       
46 Seree Ruangsiri (Tha) All Star Thailand                 
47 Li We Chen (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing                      
48 Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn) Japan                        
49 Trung Hieu Dang (Vie) Vietnam                           
50 Yen Lin Huang (Tpe) Giant Asia Racing                   
51 Danny Fang (Sin) Cycleworx Singapore                    
52 Cong Hieu Mai (Vie) Vietnam                             
53 Daisuke Hioki (Jpn) Matrix Powetag                      
54 Phat Dat Trinh (Vie) Vietnam                            
55 Victor Espiritu (Phi) Philippines                       
56 Patnk Tybor (Svk) Dukla Trencin                         
57 Matthias Berting (Ger) Kuota Senges                     
58 Seiichi Koshiumi (Jpn) Japan                            
59 Muhammad Fauzan Ahmad Lufti (Mas) Malaysia              
60 Christoph von Kleinsorgen (Ger) Kuota Senges            
61 Bjorn Glasner (Ger) Kuota Senges                        
62 Greg Svarc (Sin) Cycleworx Singapore                    
63 Thijs Poelstra (Ned) Ysselstreek                        
64 Alexander van Bavel (Ned) Ysselstreek                   
65 Ryan Ariham (Ina) Faeso Denmark                         
66 Janaidi Bin Hashim (Sin) Cycleworx Singapore            
67 Yuli Haryanto (Ina) Customs Cycling                     
68 Lex Nederlof (Ned) Ysselstreek                          
69 Yoshimitsu Tsuji (Jpn) Matrix Powetag                   
70 Roel de Vries (Ned) Ysselstreek                         
71 Chaturat Phongphanat (Tha) All Star Thailand            
72 Masahiko Mifune (Jpn) Matrix Powetag                    
73 Matej Vyssna (Svk) Dukla Trencin                    8.52
74 Nicholas Dale Swallow (Sin) Cycleworx Singapore    12.33
HD Saikrishna Chindam (Ind) India                          
HD Khalld Al Shambih (UAE) United Arab Emirates            
DNF Jesper Norgaard Lund (Den) Faeso Denmark               
DNF Subhash Chander (Ind) India                            
DNF Sushil Kumar (Ind) India                               
DNF Jorawar Singh (Ind) India                              
DNF Ramappa Yengeth (Ind) India