Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Carrera de San Rafael (GP San Rafael) - NE

USA, September 9, 2006


Laine and Lloyd victorious as pro cycling returns to San Rafael

Sayers of Health Net pipped
Photo ©: Rob O'Dea
(Click for larger image)

The Pro30 Carrera de San Rafael commenced with a strong turnout of riders and spectators, after a two year lay off. The race was decided by a five man break that lapped the field, with the win going to Owen Laine (BMC Racing) from Mike Sayers (Health Net-Maxxis).

In the final lap Sayers jumped to the front of the break on the back side of the course and led through the last two corners with Laine on his wheel. "I figured I'd just wait for someone to jump, hold their wheel and come around them if I could, and that's what happened," Laine described.

The California Giant Strawberries/Village Peddler team placed two riders, Andy Jacques-Maynes and John Hunt, in the group of five, while their team controlled the front of the race for the last dozen laps to set up Jacques-Maynes for the sprint.

But the race was far from decided, as the winning breakaway also contained Jacques-Maynes' twin brother Ben ( Nevada), who finished 7th in last weekend's USA Cycling Pro Championships, Mike Sayers, and race winner Owen Laine.

After Ken Hanson (After BMC Racing's) took a $1000 prize offered by Pro30 Funding CEO Bill Coleman with two laps to go Sayers made his move with Laine on his wheel, who managed to overall the veteran in the final run to the line.

Sayers took his fifth second-place finish in San Rafael, ahead of Andy Jacques-Maynes, Ben Jacques-Maynes and Hunt. Jackson Stewart ( Nevada) won the sprint for 6th ahead of Dave McCook (Jelly Belly).

Lloyd wins women's race

Lloyd crosses the line
Photo ©: Rob O'Dea
(Click for larger image)

In the pro/elite women's race Rachel Lloyd (McGuire/US Armed Forces) took the win in an impressive solo effort ahead of teammate Shelly Olds. "I just started drilling it for the last lap, got a little gap on the hill and held it to the line," Lloyd recalled.

The Marin-based PROMAN/Paradigm team dominated the race, however Lloyd and Holly Borowski (McGuire/US Armed Forces) attacked out of an earlier break and opened a gap on the PROMAN-controlled field in the closing laps.

On the last lap, Borowski was dropped and swept up by the field while Lloyd stayed away for the victory ahead of Laura Charameda (Olds, McGuire Cycling) and another PROMAN/Paradigm rider, Helene Drumm.

Other races

Other winners on the day were Team Spine's Jeff Angermann in the elite Masters 35+ race, Alexis Alexander (PABW powered by TIBCO) in the Women Cat 3 field, Sarah Miller (NorCal Velo) in the Women Cat 4 race, Chris Carscadden (WTB/Santa Cruz/Fox) in the novice Masters 35+ race, Steven Reid (Easton/Specialized) in the Juniors 15-16 race, and San Rafael's own Zach Williams (Tieni Duro) in the Juniors 17-18.

The Pro30 Carrera de San Rafael was also the final event in the Northern California/Nevada Cycling Associations' nine-race NCNCA Premier Series. Billy Clark (Morgan Stanley/24Hr Fitness/Specialized) beat today's winner Angermann on a tiebreaker to capture the series title for the elite Masters 35+ category.

In the elite women's category, Olds had clinched the series title even before taking second in San Rafael, while Eric Wohlberg (Symmetrics) hung on to win the pro/elite men's series despite missing today's race due to team commitments.

To the victor go the spoils
Photo ©: Rob O'Dea
(Click for larger image)


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Rob O'Dea/



1 Owen Laine (BMC Racing Team)
2 Michael Sayers (Healthnet/Maxxis)
3 Andy Jacques-Maynes (California Giant Strawberries/Specialized)
4 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Kodak Nevada)
5 John Hunt (California Giant / Village Peddler)
6 Jackson Stewart (Kodak Nevada)
7 David McCook (Jelly Belly)
8 Adam Switters (Lombardi Sports)
9 Todd Hennings (Pacific State Bank/Anderson Homes)
10 Chris Hipp (Labor Power)
11 Dean Peters (Safeway/GA Communications)
12 Takumi Shimomura (3BRT)
13 Jason Killran (BMC Racing Team)
14 Joseph Iannarelli (davis bike club)
15 Sean McBride (Metromint Cycling)
16 Andres Gil (Pacific State Bank/Anderson Homes)
17 Judd Van Sickle (Davis Bike Cub)
18 Tyler Gough (Tieni Duro)
19 JD Bergmann (Metromint Cycling)
20 Roman Krilvar (Healthnet/Maxxis)
21 Bob Newman (Pacific State Bank/Anderson Homes)
22 Mack Chew (Arete' Racing/Vellum Cycles)
23 Ken Akita (Aisan)
24 Kevin King (Pegasus/Vandon Berghe Properties)
25 Mike Telega (California Giant / Village Peddler)
26 Uthman Ray III (McGuire)
27 Robert Pasco (Safeway/GA Communications)
28 Paul Perr (RH Villa Montano Velo)
29 Dylan Seguin (Solano/Soule Cycling)
30 Bruce Wilford (Webcor/Alto Velo)
31 Max Jenkins (California Giant / Village Peddler)
32 Christian F Kearney ( Velo)
33 Keith Szolusha (Pacific State Bank/Anderson Homes)
34 Eric Walle (Solano/Soule Cycling)
35 Alton Dunnigan (Team Spine)
36 Shawn Harless (Arete' Racing/Vellum Cycles)
37 Dirk Copeland (California Giant/Village Peddler)
38 Dario Druing (Lombardi Sports)
39 Forrest Koenig (Solano/Soule Cycling)
40 Aaron Beardsley (Metromint Cycling)
41 Rob Evans (RH Villa Montano Velo)
42 Jamiel Danesh ( Velo)
43 Peter Sullivan (Amgen Cycling)
44 Osvaldo Olmos (BMC Racing Team)
45 David Rodriguez (BMC Racing Team)
46 Thomas Noviokoff (Tradewind Cycling Team)
47 Jason Williams (Team Spine)
48 (Pacific State Bank/Anderson Homes)
49 Chris Swan (Peninsula Velo)
50 Patrick Dunaway (California Giant / Village Peddler)
51 Fred Stamm (Metromint Cycling)
52 Justin Hale (BMC Racing Team)
53 Jonathan Eropkin (Central Valley Cycling)
54 Devin Vigus (Monex)
55 James Mattis (California Giant / Village Peddler)
56 Paul Sumner (GS Lombardi Sports)
57 Anastasio Flores Jr. (Cal Giant)
58 Patrick Briggs (California Giant / Village Peddler)


1 Rachel Lloyd (Proman/Paradigm)
2 Shelley Olds (Proman/Paradigm)
3 Laura Charameda (McGuire Women's Team)
4 Helene Drumm (Proman/Paradigm)
5 Taitt Sato (McGuire Racing Team)
6 Holly Borowski (McGuire/ US Armed Forces)
7 Kristin Drumm (Proman/Pardigm)
8 Courtney Brown (McGuire)
9 Mary Ellen Ash (Bay Area Velo Girls)
10 Jane Robertson (
11 Sara Ellis (Ultimate Fitness)
12 Emily Thurston (Easton/Specialized)
13 Lisa Hunt (The Olympic Club)
14 Lea Adams (Helens/Trek/VW)
15 Lori Cox (Proman/Paradigm)
16 Martina Patella (Mcguire)