Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt - CDM/1.1

Germany, September 10, 2006

Main Page    Results   Overall standings     Next Stage

Stage 1 - September 10: Men's race, 156,9 km

Teenager Ciolek outsprints his elders

By Susan Westemeyer

Gerald Ciolek, last year's German national champion, surprised the cycling world again by winning "Rund um den Nürnberger Altstadt." Ciolek, 19, who rides for the Continental Team Wiesenhof-Akud, outsprinted Tilo Schüler (Team Sparkasse) and Harald Morscher (Team Vorarlberg), as the participating ProTour teams all missed the podium.

An escape group of four riders led the race until 17 km before the end. Despite many attempts, no further breaks were successful, and the peloton came en masse to the finish. Ciolek, who turns 20 in nine days, took the sprint.

"To win against a field with so many good sprinters is a real success for me," said Ciolek, who next year will ride for Team T-Mobile.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Florian Schaaf/


1 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                      3.27.33
2 Tilo Schüler (Ger) Team Sparkasse                                   
3 Harald Morscher (Aut) Team Vorarlberg                               
4 Stefan Heiny (Ger) Team Lamonta                                     
5 Artur Gajek (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                               
6 Matthias Friedemann (Ger) Team Lamonta                              
7 Thomas Fothen (Ger) Gerolsteiner                                    
8 Daniele Callegarin (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi      
9 Roy Curvers (Ned) Procomm-Van Hemert                                
10 Dariusz Rudnicki (Pol) Intel-Action                                
11 Alain Van Katwijk (Ned) Procomm-Van Hemert                         
12 Jonas Owczarek (Ger) Team Sparkasse                                
13 André Greipel (Ger) T-Mobile Team                                  
14 Jochen Summer (Aut) Elk Haus - Simplon                             
15 Martin Vestby (Ned) Procomm-Van Hemert                             
16 Steffen Weigold (Ger) Team Lamonta                                 
17 Werner Riebenbauer (Aut) Team Vorarlberg                           
18 Roman Kuntschik (Ger) Heinz Von Heiden Team Hannover               
19 Petr Pucelik (Cze) AC Sparta Praha                                 
20 Philip Patzer (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team                         
21 Hakan Nilsson (Swe) Continental Cycling Team Differdange           
22 Robert Lauscha (Aut) Elk Haus - Simplon                            
23 Marco Marcato (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi          
24 Hermann Fouche (RSA) Team Konica Minolta                           
25 Stefan Rucker (Aut) Elk Haus - Simplon                             
26 Nikola Aistrup (Den) Team Konica Minolta                           
27 Konstantin Schubert (Ger) Team Regiostrom-Senges                   
28 Paul Voss (Ger) Heinz Von Heiden Team Hannover                     
29 Serge Herz (Ger) Heinz Von Heiden Team Hannover                    
30 Mirko Celestino (Ita) Team Milram                                  
31 Daniel Musiol (Ger) Team Milram                                    
32 Björn Schröder (Ger) Team Milram                                   
33 Phillip Schulz (Ger) Team                     
34 Tim Van Nuffel (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                           
35 John-Lee Augustyn (RSA) Team Konica Minolta                        
36 Frank Dressler (Ger) Continental Cycling Team Differdange          
37 Pascal Hungerbühler (Swi) Team Vorarlberg                          
38 Marcel Barth (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team                          
39 Timo Honstein (Ger) Team Sparkasse                                 
40 Matthias Wiele (Ger) Team                     
41 Martin Hebik (Cze) AC Sparta Praha                                 
42 Wolfgang Murer (Aut) Elk Haus - Simplon                            
43 Björn Gollhardt (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team                       
44 Fredrik Johansson (Swe) Continental Cycling Team Differdange       
45 Robert Retschke (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                          
46 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                         
47 Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                           
48 Jan Barta (Cze) Elk Haus - Simplon                                 
49 Dirk Müller (Ger) Team Sparkasse                                   
50 Matthias Hahn (Ger) Thüringer Energie Team                         
51 David Kopp (Ger) Gerolsteiner                                      
52 Patrick Riedesser (Aut) Team Vorarlberg                            
53 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Regiostrom-Senges                        
54 Peter Velits (Svk) Team Konica Minolta                             
55 Ralf Grabsch (Ger) Team Milram                                     
56 Elnathan Heizmann (Ger) Team Regiostrom-Senges                     
57 Domenik Klemme (Ger) Heinz Von Heiden Team Hannover                
58 Chr Von Kleinsorgen (Ger) Team Lamonta                             
59 Marcel Beima (Ned) Procomm-Van Hemert                              
60 Mathias Kessler (Ger) T-Mobile Team                                
61 Malte Urban (Ger) Heinz Von Heiden Team Hannover                   
62 Luca Solari (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi            
63 Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) T-Mobile Team                           0.10
64 Maurizio Bellin (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi        
65 Björn Glasner (Ger) Team Lamonta                                   
66 Martin Pecenka (Cze) AC Sparta Praha                               
67 Johanne Sickmueller (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                      
68 Dejan Aistrup (Den) Team Konica Minolta                            
69 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi         
70 Wolfram Wiese (Ger) Team Regiostrom-Senges                         
71 Christian Knees (Ger) Team Milram                                  
72 Lukasz Bodnar (Pol) Intel-Action                               0.13
73 Sebastian Skiba (Pol) Intel-Action                                 
74 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner                                  
75 Hannes Blank (Ger) Team Lamonta                                    
76 Morten Knudsen (Den) Continental Cycling Team Differdange          
77 Krzysztof Miara (Pol) Intel-Action                                 
78 Jens Mouris (Ned) Team Regiostrom-Senges                           
79 Jeroen Boelen (Ned) Procomm-Van Hemert                             
80 Richard Faltus (Ger) Team Sparkasse                                
81 Benjamin Hill (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                            
82 Finn Heitmann (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                            
83 Tron. Kristensen (Den) Continental Cycling Team Differdange    0.19
84 Marc Weisshaupt (Ger) Elk Haus - Simplon                       0.20
85 Eddy Forner (Ita) Continental Cycling Team Differdange             
86 Jason Phillips (Aus) Heinz Von Heiden Team Hannover            0.21
87 Frank Hoj (Den) Gerolsteiner                                       
88 Tomasz Brozyna (Pol) Intel-Action                                  
89 Fraser Mac Master (NZl) Team Vorarlberg                            
90 Denis Haueisen (Ger) Team Milram                                   
91 Marco Kiritschenko (Ger) Team                 
92 Stefan Parinussa (Ger) Team Sparkasse                              
93 Martin Velits (Svk) Team Konica Minolta                            
94 Maint Berkenbosch (Ned) Team Regiostrom-Senges                     
95 Julian Rammler (Ger) Team                     
96 Peter Presslauer (Ger) Stevens Racing Team                         
97 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Gerolsteiner