Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

The Celebrity Classic Criterium - NE

Van Buren, Arkansas, USA, September 30 - October 1, 2006

Results Photography

Jensen dominates celebrity feature race

By Stefan Rothe

The Celebrity Classic Criterium is continuing to attract a good number of domestic professionals towards the end of a long season. This year, riders from teams Jelly-Belly, Health-Net, AEG-Toshiba and Lipton's Sarah Caravella added some extra strength to the Pro 1/2 and Women's Open races, respectively.

The main event on Saturday saw 45 riders line up for the Pro 1/2 criterium in old downtown Van Buren, Arkansas. Last year's fourth place finisher Brian Jensen (now Team Jelly-Belly), took off early together with Garret Peltonen (Health-Net). The two established a constant lead of 30 seconds on the technical course while their respective teammates controlled the field and didn't let another break away succeed. Health-Net's Scott Moninger was especially active in the pack to control the race.

Only Phil Wikoff (Team Hotel San Jose) and Chad Cagle (Mercy Cycling Team) were able to escape in the last few laps of the 75-minute race but couldn't catch the two early leaders. Jensen took the sprint ahead of Peltonen followed by Cagle and Wikoff. The field sprint for fifth place was won by Trinidad and Tobago national champion Emile Abraham (AEG-Toshiba) - even though he didn't have any teammates helping him as Esad Hasonovic's and Nebojsa Jananovic's entire luggage, including bikes and riding gear, was lost by the airline on the way to the event, leaving the pair to spectate.

In Sunday's Pro 1/2 event, some riders showed that their fitness is still on top at the end of a long season. After only a couple of laps into the shortened 60-minute criterium Scott Moninger, Garret Peltonen (both Health-Net), Dave McCook, Brian Jensen (both Jelly-Belly), David Wenger (Team Hotel San Jose) and Chad Cagle (Mercy Cycling Team) powered away from a charging field and got quickly a 20 second lead.

With all major players represented in the break, the group of six lapped the field halfway through the race. To keep things clear and avoid a mix-up with field, the break didn't hesitate long and went to the front of the pack. Shortly after, another break went off, including five of the six leaders.

Yesterday's winner Brian Jensen didn't show any weakness again and won the sprint for the 'V' ahead of his teammate Dave McCook, runner-up at USPRO Crit Nationals 2005. Last year's Celebrity Classic winner Scott Moninger rounded up the podium in third place ahead of teammate Garret Peltonen, who is heading to Australia to compete in the Herald Sun Tour, October 8-14.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mark Stallings/


Day 1
Women’s Open				
1 Sarah Caravella (Team Lipton)	
2 Jen McRae (Connex Train)		
3 Shontell Gauthier (Team Joy Ride)	
4 Catherine Walberg (Tem Kenda Tire)	
5 Samantha Schneider (Unattached)	
Pro 1 & 2 				
1 Brian Jensen (Jelly Belly – Pool Gel)
2 Garret Peltonen (Health Net – Maxxis)
3 Chad Cagle (Mercy – Powered by Fuze)
4 Phil Wikoff (Team Hotel San Jose)	
5 Emile Abraham (AEG – Toshiba)	
6 Dave McCook (Jelly Belly – Pool Gel)
7 Nick Kiernan (Mercy – Powered by Fuze
Day 2
Women’s Open 			
1 Allyson Brandt (Conex Train)	
2 Elizabeth Allen (Team Joy Ride)	
3 Sarah Caravella (Team Lipton)	
4 Shontell Gauthier (Team Joy Ride)	
5 Catherine Walberg (Team Kenda Tire)	
Pro 1 & 2 				
1 Brian Jensen (Jelly Belly – Pool Gel)
2 Dave McCook (Jelly Belly – Pool Gel)
3 Scott Moninger (Health Net - Maxxis)
4 Garret Peltonen (Health Net – Maxxis)
5 David Wenger (Team Hotel San Jose)	
6 Chad Cagle (Mercy – powered by FUZE)