Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Tour of Korea - 2.2

Korea, May 4-10, 2006

2005 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - May 4: Bucheon Central Park criterium, 64km
  • Stage 2 - May 5: Gwangmyeong Velodrome criterium, 60km
  • Stage 3 - May 6: Chuncheon - Heonnae, 168km
  • Stage 4 - May 7: Yangyang criterium, 84km
  • Stage 5 - May 8: Yangyang - Yangyang, 180km
  • Stage 6 - May 9: Yangyang - Yangyang, 167km
  • Stage 7 - May 10: Yangyang - Yangyang, 133km

McLachlan looking for lead in UCI Asia Continental circuit

By Rob Young, Drapac Porsche team manager

2005 UCI Oceania circuit winner Rob McLachlan has an opportunity to take the lead in the UCI Asia circuit with the Tour of Korea starting tomorrow. McLachlan is sitting in 3rd place in the rankings after his win in the Tour of Chong Ming Island last month, and is only three points adrift of second placed rider David McCann from Giant Asia Racing Team. Rankings leader David George of South Africa is not competing this week, leaving McCann and McLachlan to battle it out for Continental leader’s jersey.

McLachlan’s Drapac Porsche team and Giant Asia also look to be the teams to beat in Korea this week, although they will face stiff competition from three Japanese teams (Skil-Shimano, Japan National Team, and Team Nippo), and a number of the Korean sprinters including Park Sung Baek (Seoul City) and Jang Sun Jae from Sang Moo Cycling Team. Drapac Porsche considers its strength lies in its depth of talent and with Bendigo Madison winner Zak Dempster joining the lineup to give extra fire power in the sprints, the team looks capable of supporting McLachlan’s bid for the yellow jersey.

The seven-day race starts with a 60km criterium in Bucheon, a city about one hour’s drive from Seoul. Day 2 is also a criterium, around the new domed velodrome at Gwanmyong, while Day 3 sees the race move into the mountains around Chun Cheon with a 168km stage with two moderately difficult climbs. After a criterium at the beachside town of Yang Yang on Day 4 the race will return to the mountains for a 180km stage with three major climbs to over 1,000m elevation. This may prove to be the pivotal stage with the last two days offering few opportunities to split the field.

Start list


Past winners

2005: David McCann (Giant Asia)
2004: Cory Lange (Can)
2003: Glen Chadwick (Aus)
2002: Tang Xuezhong (Chn)
2001: Dae-Hong Chun (Kor)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,