Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Five rings of Moscow - 2.2

Russia, May 5-9, 2006

Preview    Start List

The Stages

  • Prologue - May 5: Poklonnaya Gora, 3km
  • Stage 1 - May 5: Kremlin ring, 100km
  • Stage 2 - May 6: Vorobyovy gory, 162km
  • Stage 3 - May 7: Zelenograd ring, 153km
  • Stage 4 - May 8: Krylatskoye Olympic circuit, 160km
  • Stage 5 - May 9: Sadovoye Circle, 130km

Local teams do battle in the capital

By Sergey Kurdyukov

Apart from national pro championship and the GP of Sochi, a series of races in May held in Moscow is the only opportunity for Russian fans to see up-and-coming professional riders from post-Soviet states in person. For the most part of the season they polish their skills in Europe. Just a couple of years ago 5 Rings was meant for under 23 riders only, but recently it was upgraded to a UCI 2.2 ranking, and now sports longer stages.

The main peculiarity that sets this race apart from similar ones around the globe is the chance for participants to ride at the very heart of Russian capital. The average speed is normally rather high, and, despite numerous breakaways every so often, it usually comes down to a bunch sprint in all stages but one. Stage 4 is rated as hard as any toughest one-day classic, with countless technical turns and steep ascents. It’s there that the shape of GC is normally decided.

This year everybody was looking forward to a derby between Moscow and St-Petersburg schools of cycling, represented by teams Omnibike Dynamo Moscow and Tinkoff Restaurants-S7 Airlines. They brought their top riders and it was easily predictable that final victory, as well mmost of the stages, would be shared between them.

Start list

Russian National Team              Regional Team Agidel
1 Maxim Belkov (Rus)               7 Ivan Blinov (Rus)
2 Nikita Eskov (Rus)               8 Pavel Kochetkov (Rus)
3 Sergey Firsanov (Rus)            9 Alexander Prishpetniy (Rus)
4 Alexander Khatuntsev (Rus)       10 Anton Samokhvalov (Rus)
5 Sergey Kolesnikov (Rus)          11 Dmitry Samokhvalov (Rus)
6 Anton Reshetnikov (Rus)          12 Andrey Solomennikov (Rus)
Premier                            Schelkovo
13 Alexander Bespalov (Rus)        19 Anton Afonin (Rus)
14 Roman Klimov (Rus)              20 Stanislav Belov (Rus)
15 Danil Komkov (Rus)              21 Ilya Gorodnichev (Rus)
16 Roman Mikhailov (Rus)           22 Alexey Kunshin (Rus)
17 Alexander Mironov (Rus)         23 Victor Panaev (Rus)
18 Sergey Smirnov (Rus)            24 Alexander Serebryakov (Rus)
Udmurtia                           Olympic Nadezhdi
25 Mikhail Antonov (Rus)           31 Dmitry Kosyakov (Rus)
26 Leonid Kovtun (Rus)             32 Egor Lutskovich (Rus)
27 Alexander Lebedev (Rus)         33 Evgeny Nikitin (Rus)
28 Vladimir Likhachev (Rus)        34 Artem Ovechkin (Rus)
29 Artem Orlov (Rus)               35 Oleg Rodionov (Rus)
30 Alexander Porsev (Rus)          36 Alexander Slivkin (Rus)
Diamond Regional                   Belarusian National Team
37 Konstantin Filatov (Rus)        42 Anatoli Chaburka (Blr)
38 Andrei Nikitin (Rus)            43 Vasili Kiryienka (Blr)
39 Oleg Sashenkov (Rus)            44 Andrei Kunitski (Blr)
40 Sergei Semenov (Rus)            45 Aliaksandr Kychinski (Blr)
41 Roman Zavarzin (Rus)            46 Aliaksandr Lisouski (Blr)
                                   47 Yury Yurchanka (Blr)
Belarusian Track Team              Uzbekistan National Team
48 Dzmitry Aulasenka (Blr)         54 Yusuf Abrekov (Uzb)
49 Alexei Kamarou (Blr)            55 Yuriy Ivoljatov (Uzb)
50 Siarhei Novik (Blr)             56 Ruslan Mihaylov (Uzb)
51 Kanstantin Shkredau (Blr)       57 Aleksey Smirnov (Uzb)
52 Arthur Tarasau (Blr)            58 Vladimir Tyjelkin (Uzb)
53 Alexei Tsikhanau (Blr)          59 Philipp Yakovenko (Uzb)
Sverdlovsk                         Kazakhstan National Team
60 Alexander Adelev (Rus)          66 Andrey Bozhko (Kaz)
61 Grigoriy Chestnov (Rus)         67 Vadim Kozlov (Kaz)
62 Vadim Gerasimov (Rus)           68 Maxim Mussaipov (Kaz)
63 Evgeny Perminov (Rus)           69 Alexandr Osmak (Kaz)
64 Alexander Tegay (Rus)           70 Alexandr Silaichev (Kaz)
65 Ivan Zykov (Rus)                71 Roman Zhiyentayev (Kaz)
Ukrainian National Team            ISD-Donetsk
72 Sergiy Bas (Ukr)                78 Yuriy Agarkov (Ukr)
73 Ievgen Bryshak (Ukr)            79 Denis Kostyuk (Ukr)
74 Igor Kovalenko (Ukr)            80 Dmytro Kryvtsov (Ukr)
75 Anatoliy Pakhtusov (Ukr)        81 Maksym Polyshchuk (Ukr)
76 Kostyantyn Pasternak (Ukr)      82 Volodymyr Rybin (Ukr)
77 Andriy Suralev (Ukr)            
Donetsk-ISD                        Rietumu Bank Riga
83 Andriy Landuyrev (Ukr)          87 Kalvis Eisaks (Lat)
84 Oleksiy Marynyn (Ukr)           88 Normunds Lasis (Lat)
85 Sergiy Mynashkyn (Ukr)          89 Olegs Melehs (Lat)
86 Anatoliy Yugov (Ukr)            90 Herberts Pudans (Lat)
                                   91 Artis Roze (Lat)
                                   92 Aleksejs Saramotins (Lat)
Dinamo                             Russia MTB Team
93 Oleg Grishkin (Rus)             97 Vasily Khatuntsev (Rus)
94 Sergey Sevostianov (Rus)        98 Dmitriy Medvedev (Rus)
95 Sergey Sherbakov (Rus)          99 Ivan Seledkov (Rus)
96 Andrey Shmigoun (Rus)           100 Denis Vorontsov (Rus)
Russian Track Team                 Omnibike Dinamo Moscow
101 Alexey Bauer (Rus)             106 Vladislav Borisov (Rus)
102 Andrey Kluev (Rus)             107 Alexey Shmidt (Rus)
103 Ivan Kovalev (Rus)             108 Yury Trofimov (Rus)
104 Konstantin Ponomarev (Rus)     109 Valery Valynin (Rus)
105 Alexey Usov (Rus)              110 Vacheslav Vilkov (Rus)
                                   111 Eduard Vorganov (Rus)
Lokomotiv SPb                      Tinkoff Restaurants
112 Ilya Chernetskiy (Rus)         118 Pavel Brutt (Rus)
113 Egor Kazakov (Rus)             119 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus)
114 Ilya Krestiyaninov (Rus)       120 Sergey Klimov (Rus)
115 Anton Mindlin (Rus)            121 Ivan Rovny (Rus)
116 Vladimir Shchekunov (Rus)      122 Alexander Serov (Rus)
117 Oleg Tinkov (Rus)              123 Nikolay Trusov (Rus)
Krasnodarsky Regional Team         
124 Alexander Kabalov (Rus)        
126 Roman Kononov (Rus)            
127 Dmitry Puzanov (Rus)           
128 Sergey Rudaskov (Rus)          
129 Konstantin Shamrai (Rus)