Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

8th GP Rudy Dhaenens - NE

Nevele, Belgium, March 19, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Meirhaeghe wins GP Rudy Dhaenens

Filip Meirhaeghe has repaid the faith shown in him by Landbouwkrediet-Colnago, who picked him back up after his doping suspension, by winning the 8th GP Rudy Dhaenens in Poesele (Nevele). Meirhaeghe won a four man sprint from Aart Vierhouten (Skil-Shimano), Matthe Pronk ( and his teammate Kevin Neirynck, with Landbouwkrediet riders also finishing sixth and seventh. It was a big comeback for the 35 year-old former mountain bike world champion.

"Actually, I still can't believe that I won," said Meirhaeghe afterwards. "I was on the wheel of the Skil rider. He began to sprint strongly, but I saw that he was in a much too big a gear. I could then easily get past him."

Vierhouten admitted that he had made a mistake in the sprint, having to change down in mid-sprint. "Very stupid," he said. "I had to pedal too big a gear when I started the sprint. I saw Meirhaeghe coming and was floored by him. I could have won here. Second place is always the hardest. The positive thing is that the condition is getting better all the time. I'll now ride all the Flemish classics, with the Tour of Flanders as the main one, of course."

Although no longer a UCI event, the GP Rudy Dhaenens was still attended by a good selection of the top Belgian pro teams. Although not a particularly hilly race, it was ridden aggressively with a cold northeast wind making life difficult for the peloton. With 65 km to go, a lead group of 21 riders formed, from which Meirhaeghe attacked to reduce the group further. He took eight others with him, including teammate Kevin Neirynck. With 25 km to go, he and Neirynck attacked, and only Vierhouten and Pronk could follow this time. Landbouwkrediet used its superiority to good advantage with Neirynck keeping the tempo high to give Meirhaeghe the best chance to win the sprint, which he did.

Results - 170 km

1 Filip Meirhaeghe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago                  4.02.11 (42.12 km/h)
2 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Skil-Shimano
3 Matthe Pronk (Ned)
4 Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
5 Jan Kuyckx (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                                   0.21
6 Andy Cappelle (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
7 Jurgen Van Loocke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago                    1.02
8 Denis Flahaut (Fra) Flanders
9 Kenny Van Hummel (Ned) Skil-Shimano
10 Nic Ingels (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto
11 Kevin Peeters (Bel) Yawadoo-Colba-ABM
12 Tim Meeusen (Bel) 
13 Iljo Keisse (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen
14 Ward Bogaert (Bel) Yawadoo-Colba-ABM
15 Frederik Christiaens (Bel) 
16 Johan Verstrepen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
17 Rik Reinerink (Ned) Skil-Shimano
18 James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
19 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen
20 Dieter Cappelle (Bel)
21 Alexandr Dymovskikii (Kaz) Capec
22 Michel Vanhaecke (Bel) 
23 Anton Wouters (Bel) Profel Ziegler Continental Team
24 Tom Criel (Bel)
25 Andrey Medyannikov (Kaz) Capec
26 Ilya Chernyshov (Kaz) Capec) 
27 Gregory De Munster (Bel) Flanders
28 Ivor Bruin (Ned) B&E Cycling Team
29 Steven Thys (Bel) Jartazzi-7Mobile
30 Goswin Laplasse (Bel) 
31 Dieter Putman (Bel)
32 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Unibet-Davo
33 Stefan Huizinga (Ned) Unibet-Davo
34 Vadim Vdovinov (Kaz) Capec
35 Sjef De Wilde (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
36 Pieter Claeys (Bel)
37 Johnnie Walker (Aus) 
38 Peter Ronsse (Jartazzi-7Mobile) 
39 Huub Duyn (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team
40 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team

Starters: 186
Classified: 40

Courtesy of Guy Dedieu

Past winners

2005 Koen Barbé (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T.Interim       
2004 Geert Omloop (Bel) MrBookmaker.Com - Palmans
2003 Christophe Kern (Fra) Brioches La Boulangère
2002 Wesley Van Speybroeck (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
2001 Geert Omloop (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
2000 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Palmans-Ideal
1999 Hendrik Van Dyck (Bel) TVM

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,