Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Swiss Championships - CN

Boningen and Aarau, Switzerland, June 23-25, 2006

Main Page    Results    Previous Day  

Day 3 - June 25: Elite men/Masters men/Junior men/Beginner men road race, 211.2/88/123.2/52.8 km

The podium
Photo ©: Ernst Bretscher
(Click for larger image)
The Pro podium:
Photo ©: Ernst Bretscher
(Click for larger image)

Rast races to second national title

By Susan Westemeyer

Phonak's Gregory Rast took his second national title in two years, winning the road title Sunday in Aarau. It was Phonak's fifth title win in a row. Gerolsteiner's Marcel Strauss was second, while Phonak's Aurélien Clerc was third and Gerolsteiner's Beat Zberg fourth.

Rast attacked some 60 km before the finish line, and only Strauss was able to go with him. In the following group, Zberg was alone with four Phonak riders. The sprinter Clerc was able to break from that group and secure the bronze medal.

A group of 18 broke away in the first kilometres of the 211 km race, a group which included the eventual winner. Such big names as defending champion Martin Elmiger, Alexandre Moos, Steffen Wesemann and Fabian Cancellara missed out on the deciding group.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Ernst Bretscher

  • The podium of the best national Elite-riders not in a UCI-team: (L-R) Nazareno Rossi, Jonas Leib and, Simon Schärer with Alfredo Maranesi, directeur of their team GS Mendrisio
  • The Pro podium: (L-R) Marcel Straus, Gregory Rast and Aurélien Clerc

Results, 211.2 km

1 Gregory Rast (Phonak Cycling Team)                      4.52.34
2 Marcel Strauss (Gerolsteiner)                              0.02
3 Aurélien Clerc (Phonak Cycling Team)                       2.37
4 Beat Zberg (Gerolsteiner)                                  2.55
5 Steve Zampieri (Phonak Cycling Team)
6 Florian Stalder (Phonak Cycling Team)                      3.22
7 Johann Tschopp (Phonak Cycling Team)
8 Roger Beuchat (Team LPR)                                   6.16
9 Jonas Leib (PL Valli)                                      6.31
10 Nazareno Rossi (PL Valli)                                 6.51
11 Michael Albasini (Liquigas - Bianchi)
12 Simon Schärer (PL Valli)
13 Philippe Schnyder (Selle Italia Diquigiovanni)            7.04
14 Matthieu Deschenaux (Team Mega Bike)                      7.08
15 Laurent Arn (Pro Cycling Team Rietumu)                    9.30
16 Markus Zberg (Gerolsteiner)
17 Alexandre Moos (Phonak Cycling Team)
18 Mario Wernli (Bürgis Cycling Team)                       12.16
19 Roman Andres (Groupe Sportif Rufalex)                    12.19
20 Steve Grossenbacher (GS Hadimec)
21 Roger Devittori (VC Mendrisio)
22 Marcel Siegfried (Bürgis Cycling Team)                   12.24
23 Damian Reichlin (Groupe Sportif Rufalex)                 13.08
24 Janusch Laule (Pro Cycling Team Rietumu)
25 Stefan Felder (Team Hörmann)                             14.54
26 Mirco Jaisli (Groupe Sportif Rufalex)
27 Fabian Krienbühl (GS Frank)                              19.26
28 Sven Schelling (
29 Laurent Beuret (Team Mega Bike)                          1 lap
30 Marco Jimenez (Team Mega Bike)
31 Reto Hollenstein (Groupe Sportif Rufalex)
32 Fabian Züsli (Team Hörmann)
33 Stefan Trafelet (Continental-Team-Milram)
34 Sandro Germann (PL Valli)
35 Thomas Frei (Bürgis Cycling Team)
36 Peter Oeschger (GS Hadimec)
37 Tobias Eggli (GS Hadimec)
38 Jérôme Cornut (Team Mega Bike)
39 Christoph Girschweiler (Team Vorarlberg Volksbank)
40 Gregor Gut (Team Vorarlberg Volksbank)
41 Marcel Schilliger (GS Hadimec)
42 Bernard Oberholzer (GS Hadimec)
43 Mario Birrer (CVV Morteau-Montbenoît)
44 Maxime Beney (Team Mega Bike)