Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

43rd GP Kanton Aargau/Gippingen - 1.HC

Switzerland, June 4, 2006

2005 Results   Results    Past winners

Beat Zberg wins again

By Susan Westemeyer

Gerolsteiner's Beat Zberg took his second season victory Sunday, winning the GP Kanton Aargau in Gippingen, Switzerland. "I knew that my form was right. I saw that already at the Bayern Rundfahrt. And today it worked out perfectly," said the happy winner. "I'm ready, the Tour de Suisse can come!"

The race consisted of 10 laps of 19,5 km circuit. On the third lap, a group of 26 riders got away, building up a lead of up to 7 minutes. The field gave chase, but gave up their efforts at the end of the eighth lap, conceding the race to one of the escape group. The group gradually grew smaller over the last two laps as the pace increased. In the last lap, a group of four broke away for good, and Zberg was able to outsprint his companions. Nick Nuyens of Quick Step and Gregory Rast of Phonak finished behind him with the same time, while Jurgen Van de Walle of Quick Step came in 3 seconds later.

Results - 196 km

1 Beat Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner                       4.48.55 (40.7 km/h)
2 Nick Nuyens (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic                    
3 Grégory Rast (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems                  
4 Jurgen Van Der Walle (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic       0.03
5 Elia Rigotta (Ita) Team Milram                         1.48
6 Aliaksandr Kuchynski (Blr) Ceramica Flaminia           2.02
7 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile Team                        
8 Pascal Hungerbühler (Swi) Team Vorarlberg                  
9 Tim Klinger (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                  4.36
10 Aliaksandr Usau (Blr) AG2R Prevoyance                 6.20
11 David Mcpartland (Aus) Team Tenax Salmilano               
12 Adriano Angeloni (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia                  
13 Gianluca Geremia (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia                  
14 Mirko Allegrini (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare           
15 Matthé Pronk (Ned)                             
16 Massimiliano Mori (Ita) Naturino-Sapore di Mare           
17 Alessandro Maserati (Ita) Team L.P.R.                 6.22
18 Wim De Vocht (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                    6.23
19 André Korff (Ger) T-Mobile Team                       6.25
20 Tiziano Dall Antonia (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare      
21 Murilo Anton Fischer (Bra) Naturino-Sapore di Mare    6.45
22 Josef Soukup (Cze) Hadimec                           14.46
23 Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic          14.56
24 Peter Oeschger (Swi) Hadimec                              
25 Aurélien Clerc (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems               
26 Bobbie Traksel (Ned)                           
27 Martin Müller (Ger) Team Milram                           
28 Michael Randin (Swi) Hadimec                              
29 Bernhard Oberholzer (Swi) Hadimec                         
30 Peter Pichler (Aut) Elk Haus-Simplon                      
31 Olivier Kaisen (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                      
32 Gregor Gut (Swi) Team Vorarlberg                          
33 Simon Wyss (Swi) Hadimec                                  
34 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team L.P.R.                       
35 Harald Totschnig (Aut) Elk Haus-Simplon                   
36 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Davitamon-Lotto                      
37 Marcel Strauss (Swi) Gerolsteiner                         
38 Christo Girschweiler (Swi) Team Vorarlberg                
39 Marc Weisshaupt (Aut) Elk Haus-Simplon                    
40 Steve Grossenbacher (Swi) Hadimec                         
41 Vasilis Anastopoulos (Gre) Team Vorarlberg                
42 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Quick Step-Innergetic                 
43 Peter Andres (Swi) Hadimec                                
44 David Vitoria (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems                
45 Christian Leben (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                 
46 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra)                         
47 Fraser Mac Master (NZl) Team Vorarlberg                   
48 Steffen Wesemann (Swi) T-Mobile Team                      
49 Roger Beuchat (Swi) Team L.P.R.                           
50 Juan Carlo Dominguez (Spa)                     
51 Jean Patrick Nazon (Fra) AG2R Prevoyance                  
52 Luis Oliveira (Spa) Phonak Hearing Systems                
53 Dennis Haueisen (Ger) Team Milram                         
54 Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia              
55 Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Ceramica Flaminia                 
56 Micula De Matteis (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano              
57 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano            
58 Alexandre Moos (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems               
59 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano              
60 Emanuele Rizza (Ita) Naturino-Sapore di Mare              
61 Sven Montgomery (Swi) Gerolsteiner                        
62 Michele Gobbi (Ita) Team Milram                           
63 Simone Cadamuro (Ita) Team Milram                         
64 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems               
65 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano               
66 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano             
67 Marcus Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner                           
68 Angel Castresana (Spa)                         
69 Harald Morscher (Aut) Team Vorarlberg                     
70 Carlo Scognamiglio (Ita) Team Milram                      
71 Giario Ermeti (Ita) Team L.P.R.                           
72 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                  
73 Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner                        
74 Christophe Brandt (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                   
75 Patrick Riedesser (Aut) Team Vorarlberg                   
76 Lars Wackernagel (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Akud                

Past winners

2005 Alexandre Moos (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
2004 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Fassa Bortolo  
2003 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
2002 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) De Nardi-Pasta Montegrappa
2001 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank
2000 Steffen Wesemann (Ger) Team Telekom

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl,