Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Austrian Championships - CN

Austria, June 24-25, 2006

Main Page    Results    Previous Day  

Day 2 - June 25: Road races

Kohl wins Austrian road title

By Susan Westemeyer

T-Mobile's Bernhard Kohl won the Austrian road title in Salzburg, on a course that is based on that for the World's this coming September. It was the 24 year-old's second big career victory, after his third place overall in the Dauphine Libéré.

"I had the necessary patience today and got away with the right group," he said. In the fifth of nine laps, he broke away with Harald Morscher of Team Volksbank and Harald Totschnig and Thomas Rohregger, both of Team Elk Haus.

"We worked together well," Kohl said, "and so we were able to get quickly away from the field. I knew that I wouldn't have any chance in a sprint again Harald Morscher, so I tried to get away." Over the last five km he tried consistently to get away from his three companions, and finally was able to, building up a tiny lead. Morscher was second and Totschnig third, both four seconds behind the winner.

"I'm in top form right now," the happy winner noted. "That's something special, when you stand on the podium and hear the national anthem." He looks forward to the red-white-red jersey: "That's a great honour for me. I will be representing Austria in the whole world."


Elite Men - 179.1 km
1 Bernhard Kohl (T-Mobile Team)                        4.35.50 (39 km/h)
2 Harald Morscher (Team Vorarlberg Volks)                 0.04
3 Harald Totschnig (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)                   
4 Thomas Rohregger (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)               0.19
5 Harald Starzengruber (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)           1.34
6 Paul Kasis (Team Plast Recycling A)                     1.35
7 Christian Pfannberger (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)          1.45
8 Jochen Summer (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)                  2.39
9 Andreas Matzbacher (Team Vorarlberg Volks)                  
10 Mario Höller (RC ARBÖ Resch & Frisc)                       
11 Hans-Jörg Leopold (ARBÖ ASKÖ T)                        2.54
12 Peter Pichler (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)                     
13 Jürgen Pauritsch (ApoSport Krone Linz AR)                  
14 Peter Luttenberger (Team CSC)                              
15 Bernhard Eisel (Française des Jeux)                        
16 Gerrit Glomser (Team Vorarlberg Volks)                     
17 Michael Pichler (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)               3.12
18 Martin Comploi (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)                    
19 Johann Jauk (UNION RC Sonnenhaus)                      5.35
20 Roland Wafler (Team Swiag - Teka)                          
21 Wolfgang Wurnitsch (UNION RC Sonnenhaus)                   
22 Hannes Gründlinger (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)                
23 Christian Pömer (ApoSport Krone Linz AR)               5.40
24 Klaus Steinkeller (RC ARBÖ Resch & Frisc)                  
25 Wolfgang Murer (Elk Haus Simplon Radte)                    
26 Patrick Riedesser (Team Vorarlberg Volks)              5.50
27 Werner Riebenbauer (Team Vorarlberg Volks)                 
28 Joachim Vollmann (ARBÖ Denzel Cliff UNIQA Pi)          6.44
29 Josef Benetseder (Team Vorarlberg Volks)               8.56
30 Rupert Probst (ARBÖ Junkers Royalbeach B)                  
31 Christof Kerschbaum (Team Plast Recycling A)               
32 Wolfgang Geisler (ARBÖ HN Radcenter, St)              12.25
33 Philipp Schernthanner (RC Innsbruck Wiedmann)              
34 Andreas Knapp (RC ARBÖ Resch & Frisc)                      
35 Werner Nindl (ARBÖ Denzel Cliff UNIQA Pi)             16.29
Starters: 133
Classified: 49
U23 Men - 179.1 km
1 Matthias Schröger (Niederösterreichische Rad U)      4.38.40 (38.6 km/h)
2 Clemens Fankhauser (Velo Club Mantovani)                    
3 Marco Oreggia (RC ARBÖ Resch & Frisc)                       
4 Markus Eibegger (ARBÖ Rapso Knittelfeld)                    
5 Norbert Dürauer (Team Swiag - Teka)                     0.04
6 Christian Ebner (Team Plast Recycling A)                    
7 Christoph Sokoll (ARBÖ Rapso Knittelfeld)               1.07
8 Michael Schwaiger (UNION Radland Kärnten)               2.48
9 Patrick Hackl (Team Swiag - Teka)                       5.14
10 Stefan Denifl (Team Vorarlberg Volks)                  6.06
11 Stefan Pöll (ARBÖ Rapso Knittelfeld)                   9.24
12 Stefan Stadler (ARBÖ Hallein)                          9.35
13 Philipp Schernthanner (RC Innsbruck Wiedmann)              
14 Christian Strauß (RC ARBÖ Resch & Frisc)              13.39
Starters: 51
Classified: 14
Elite women - 105.3 km
1 Christiane Soeder (ARBÖ Uniqa Kuota Graz)            2.59.46
2 Andrea Graus (Bigla Cycling Team)                           
3 Monika Schachl (RC Tirol)                               0.04
4 Daniela Pintarelli (ARBÖ Uniqa Kuota Graz)              0.10
5 Bärbel Jungmeier (ARBÖ Elk Haus NÖ)                     1.34
6 Brigitte Krebs (ARBÖ Raiffeisen RC Feld Am)             6.09
7 Elk Riedl (Holländischer RV)                                
8 Corina Kreidl (RC Tirol)                                8.25
9 Angelika Pieringer (ARBÖ Uniqa Kuota Graz)             10.15
10 Kathrin Schatte (ARBÖ Uniqa Kuota Graz)               14.47
11 Silke Schrattenecker (RC ARBÖ Grassinger Bikers)      17.09
12 Hemm Praschk (Polizei SV Chesini Graz)                     
13 Karin Wieser (ARBÖ Elk Haus NÖ)                       17.10
14 Barbara Hütter (ARBÖ IMCOM 24 - Vredestein)           27.23
Starters: 29 
Classified: 19
U23 women - 103.5 km
1 Bernadette Theres Schober (ARBÖ Uniqa Kuota Graz)    3.03.34 (33.8 km/h)
2 Karin Ruso (ARBÖ Elk Haus NÖ)                           4.18
3 Corina Kreidl (RC Tirol)                                4.37
4 Veronika Sprügl (ARBÖ Uniqa Kuota Graz)                 8.58
5 Catherine Langer (RC Burkert-Druck Pottendorf)         13.21
6 Pelin Czigin (ARBÖ IMCOM 24 - Vredestein)                   
Starters: 10 
Classified: 6