Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

8th GP Chiasso - 1.1

Switzerland, February 25, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Wielinga's long break succeeds

Remmert Wielinga (Quick.Step)
Photo ©: Roberto Bettini
(Click for larger image)

Remmert Wielinga (Quick.Step) won the GP Chiasso, beating Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) and Leonardo Bertagnolli (Cofidis) after an impressive 160 km breakaway.

"I really wanted to win today," Wielinga said. "I was up the front of the peloton right from the beginning, then, when the occasion arose, I made my move towards the breakaway along with Chavanel. We wanted to promote a group breakaway but we were alone. We worked together and when I realised that we were gaining on the rest of the group, I started thinking that, yes, I could go on to win the race."

Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner)
Photo ©: Roberto Bettini
(Click for larger image)

During the final lap Wielinga was told via radio that Rebellin had started his move from the chasers' group. At this point Wielinga made his final attack, remaining alone at the head of the race.

"There was no way I could have let such a golden opportunity slip past me," he added. "I did my best and it paid off. I'd like to dedicate this victory to myself, team and team manager Lefevere who strongly believes in me, giving me the chance to form part of this great team. We worked well together - the result speaks for itself."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Images by Roberto Bettini/


1 Remmert Wielinga (Ned) Quick.Step                                        4.38.07
2 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner                                          0.23
3 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Cofidis                                          0.25
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi                                      0.29
5 Matteo Carrara (Ita) Lampre                                                 0.30
6 Kim Kirchen (Lux) T-Mobile                                                      
7 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Credit Agricole                                           
8 Igor Astarloa (Esp) Barloworld                                                  
9 Luis Felip Laverde Jimenez (Col) Panaria                                        
10 Thomas Ziegler (Ger) T-Mobile                                                  
11 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Credit Agricole                                      
12 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC                                                    
13 Aliaksandr Kuchynski (Blr) Ceramica Flaminia                                   
14 Cristian Gasperoni (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                               
15 Jurgen Van De Walle (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic                                
16 Raffaele Illiano (Ita) Selle Italia-Serramenti Diquigiovanni                   
17 Mauro Facci (Ita) Barloworld                                                   
18 Giampaolo Chuela (Ita) Barloworld                                              
19 Alberto Fernandez De La Puebla Ramos (Spa) Saunier Duval-Prodir            0.32
20 Tiaan Kannemeyer (RSA) Barloworld                                              
21 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone                         
22 Moises Aldape Chavez (Mex) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare                       0.33
23 Jerome Pineau (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                                       1.12
24 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                                    
25 Roger Beuchat (Swi) Team L.P.R.                                            1.21
26 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                                    1.22
27 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Liquigas                                                   
28 Claudio Corioni (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                                          
29 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                             
30 Leonardo Moser (Ita) Acqua Sapone                                              
31 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone                    1.23
32 Cedric Vasseur (Fra) Quick Step-Innergetic                                     
33 Przemyslaw Niemec (Pol) Miche                                                  
34 Francesco Failli (Ita) Liquigas                                                
35 Leonardo Giordana (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                                
36 Ronny Scholz (Ger) Gerolsteiner                                                
37 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Credit Agricole                                     1.24
38 Rubens Bertogliato (Swi) Saunier Duval-Prodir                                  
39 Sergio Berbero (Ita) Selle Italia-Serramenti Diquigiovanni                     
40 Marco Marcato (Ita) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi                  1.44
41 Micula De Matteis (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                                   
42 Christophe Rinero (Fra) Saunier Duval-Prodir                                   
43 Christophe Lemevel (Fra) Credit Agricole                                       
44 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                                         
45 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                                   1.45
46 Amaël Moinard (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone                           
47 Roberto Petito (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                                      
48 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Acqua Sapone                                         
49 Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) Team CSC                                            1.46
50 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Quick Step-Innergetic                                  1.53
51 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Credit Agricole                                           
52 Dainius Kairelis (Ltu) Amore & Vita-McDonald's                             1.55
53 Timothy Jones (Zim) Amore & Vita-McDonald's                                1.56
54 Masimo Giunti (Ita) Naturino-Sapore Di Mare                                2.31
55 Gene Bates (Aus) Team L.P.R.                                               3.32
56 Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone                      4.07
57 Juan Pablo Magalanes Aranda (Mex) Team Androni Giocattoli-3C Casalinghi    4.49
58 Alexander Efimkin (Rus) Barloworld                                             
59 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Miche                                                   5.34
60 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                                       
61 Christophe Kern (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                                         
62 Jamie Burrow (GBr) OTC Doors-Lauretana                                     5.35
63 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Lampre-Fondital                                       
64 Angel Gomez Gomez (Spa) Saunier Duval-Prodir                                   
65 Guido Trentin (Ita) Saunier Duval-Prodir                                       
66 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team L.P.R.                                        5.36
67 Andrea Noe (Ita) Liquigas                                                      
68 Davide Bramati (Ita) Quick Step-Innergetic                                 5.37
69 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Team Tenax Salmilano                              8.49
189 starters
69 finishers

Past winners

2005 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo
2004 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Alessio-Bianchi
2003 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Panaria
2002 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Lampre
2001 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
2000 Giuliano Figueras (Ita)