Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Surrey League Revolutions Five-day - NE

Great Britain, August 18-22, 2006

2005 results     Stage List     Preview     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - August 18: Ewhurst, 93.8 miles
  • Stage 2 - August 19: Staplefield, 102.6 miles
  • Stage 3a - August 20: Goodwood TT
  • Stage 3b - August 20: Goodwood road race, 76.9 miles
  • Stage 4 - August 21: Wivelsfield, 103.3 miles
  • Stage 5 - August 22: Crowborough, 71.8 miles

Surrey set for Revolutions

By Gerry McManus

The Surrey League Revolutions 5-Day commences on Friday 18th August with a field of 50 riders set for another memorable event sponsored by top cycle shop Sigma Sport. The numbers seem a little reduced from previous years but that's not surprising as it is likely that a number of last year's competitors were not asked back to this invitation only event. Last year saw a large number of riders eliminated after they refused to finish one wet stage but had expected to re-start the following day.

This year's start sheet sees two previous winners line up to contest the 450-mile event with the added incentive of points and mountains competitions. Last year's winner Duncan Urquhart (Army CU) will find a tough challenge from the Irish 2003 winner Paul Griffin who is guest riding alongside compatriot Tim Barry and talented Kieran and Russell Page in the SP/Wightlink RT squad. Barry is no stranger to event competing for a number of years winning a stage and finishing third overall in 2001.

The absence of, DFL and Plowman Craven teams from this year's event leaves the race wide open for those with the strength and therefore ability to play the tactics game. The stages get progressively harder and it's not always the early leader that wins the final yellow jersey.

Sunday's stage features a short morning time trial around the Goodwood motor racing circuit in West Sussex with the field going out to the rolling hills around the horse racing course in afternoon.

Former KOM winner Roger Morgan (VC Meudon) makes a return to the event with only a first category licence following his marriage last year but he has already amassed a few points in local league racing this season and may be coming into some form.

Watch out for Roy Chamberlain (Team Milton Keynes) who always equips himself well in top competition. look the strongest on paper with Rob Enslin, James Williamson, Kevin Dawson, Neil Coleman, Alex Hagman, Alex Biggs and Neil Coleman in the team to beat.

Past winners

2005 Duncan Urquhart (Viner Bikes/Agisko)  
2004 Shaun Snodden (GBr)
2003 Paul Griffin (GBr) Team Ras Mumhan
2002 Kristian House (GBr) GB 'A' Team
2001 Gary Dodd (GBr)
2000 Gethin Butler (GBr)
1999 Chris Lillywhite (GBr)
1998 Gordon McCauley (NZl)
1997 Barrie Clarke (GBr)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,